When Homemade is Worth It

There are times when I don’t care what you say, store-bought items taste better than homemade.  French’s Fried Onions are a prime example.  Candy corn is another.

But more times than not, it’s worth it to make something from scratch.  At least it is when you have a few extra minutes.  Pizza is one of those things. I always use The Barefoot Contessa dough, but there are many folks I trust who swear by Jim Lahey’s.

I ate arugula pizza three times in a one week span.  Twice when I was out to eat, and once at home.  The one I made at home was my favorite by a mile.  I don’t always love arugula in isolation, but pile it on top of a pound of melted cheese, and I’m so in.

Besides, when your salad is on top of your pizza, you have a complete meal in one dish.

*A note:  My approach to pizza is quite laissez faire.  I don’t measure ingredients, I just grab what I have and scatter it around the dough.  So this is my approximation of what I did to Jenny’s recipe.

To make white pizza with arugula, you will need:

  • pizza dough
  • olive oil
  • coarse salt
  • 8 oz. mozzarella
  • ricotta (a bunch of dollops)
  • Parmesan cheese (enough to sprinkle around)
  • 2-3 handfuls arugula
  • 1/2 lemon

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees.  Using your hands, stretch the pizza dough as thin as you can without ripping it.  Place it on a cornmeal (or flour) sprinkled baking sheet. Brush pizza dough with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.  Place dollops of ricotta over dough.  Layer mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses on top.  Bake 15 minutes, until crust is brown and cheese is bubbling.  Remove from oven, and place heaps of arugula atop your masterpiece.  Squeeze lemon over the whole shebang, and slice up.

3 thoughts on “When Homemade is Worth It

Leave a Reply

