As I Write This

I don’t know whether I have power.  I don’t know whether Frankenstorm wiped us all out.

Future Jennie?  Can you hear me?  Are you safe?

Future Dear Readers?  Do you have power?  Are you in need of a soup recipe?

I hope you answered yes to both questions.  I hope I answered yes to both questions.

Because if you can get chicken and barley soup on the table tonight, you win.  I’m a total sucker for barley in soup, and this is the best I’ve had.  That should come as no surprise, as it hails from Dinner, a Love Story, which if you’re not reading, and you haven’t bought the book, then Dear Readers, I just don’t know where we stand anymore.  Jenny and Andy write about dinner, and their family’s life, in a way that makes you feel like you could create something special for your own nearest and dearest, too.

And that always starts with dinner.

To make chicken and barley soup to ride out the storm, you will need:

  • olive oil
  • 1 lb, bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces (white meat, dark meat, or both)
  • salt
  • pepper
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 C carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 C celery, chopped
  • 1/2 C red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 sprigs thyme
  • 4 C chicken stock (veggie if that’s how you roll)
  • 1/2 C uncooked barley

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Pat chicken dry with paper towel, and sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper.  Cook on baking sheet 30 minutes.  Set aside to cool.

Heat a few tablespoons olive oil in skillet.  Add onions, carrots, celery, and bell pepper.  Saute till veggies are soft, 10-12 minutes.  Add stock, bay leaf, and thyme, and bring to boil.  Reduce heat to simmer, add barley and let things hang out for 25 minutes.

While you’re hanging around, peel the skin off the chicken, and use two forks to shred the meat.

Add chicken to soup, and let the flavors come together for another few minutes.  Serve with a huge slice of crusty bread.

3 thoughts on “As I Write This

  1. … if only I hadn’t grilled my chicken in the hurricane. I was convinced I would be without power and need grilled chicken for sandwiches, salads, and such… I was happily mistaken 🙂

Leave a Reply

