Things No One Told Me in College

  1. You actually don’t have all the time in the world to pick your major.  Start too late and you’re looking at winter-term classes while your friends hit the slopes all January.
  2. You are going to eat crap in the dining hall every night and not gain any weight because you will walk miles across your campus all day, every day.
  3. When you introduce yourself to that nice young man down the hall by saying that if you got married your name would be Jennifer Lopez, it’s going to work.
  4. Ramen doesn’t have to just be Ramen.

ramen reduxDear readers, I’ve been eating Ramen since the tender age of six.  It was one of the very first foods I learned to make myself.  I’ve honed my method over the years, tweaking it here and there to create the perfect bowl.  And my world was turned upside down when I pinned this, which comes from Lucinda Scala Quinn, who actually did write the book on feeding lots of hungry men.  I’m a sucker for BGSK peanut sauce, but my husband isn’t.  He doesn’t do peanut butter.  What this means is that when I make it, I’m forced to come up with ways to use said sauce for days on end.  This Ramen recipe is more of an individual serving thing.  And it’s got just the right amount of sweet and heat.

To make it, you will need:

  • 1 package Ramen noodles (I usually go beef)
  • 2 tsp. Sriracha sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. peanut butter (crunchy is best, but smooth will do)
  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce (I use low sodium)
  • 2 scallions, sliced

Cook Ramen in boiling water according to package directions.  Add seasoning packet and stir.  Drain off almost all liquid.  Stir in remaining ingredients while noodles are still hot.  Done and done.

One thought on “Things No One Told Me in College

  1. Pingback: On Real Pasta | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

