Thank You

If you thanked a teacher yesterday, thank you.  While I certainly don’t need to cover up my 9 to 5 for this little blog, I’ve never come out and said what I do.

classI’m a teacher.

And because writing can be therapeutic, indulge me for one moment before we get back to our regularly scheduled programming (did someone say fried chicken?).

I’m a teacher.

bookshelvesIn an elementary school.  Actually, in what I firmly believe is one of the best elementary schools in town.

And yesterday was hard for me.  Really hard.  Harder than I thought.  Not for any of the reasons that a day might be hard for a teacher, but because yesterday I took the time to notice what was happening, even though it always happens a blur, and appreciate it.

desksAnd I felt appreciated.  Really appreciated.  By so many.  I grumble about my job, probably as much as anyone else does, but I love it.  People say that your job is what you do, it’s not who you are.  That doesn’t add up for teachers–at least not for the good ones.  It is who we are.  It’s who we’ve always been.  And it’s who we always will be.

So if you thanked a teacher yesterday, thank you.  You made it that much easier for us to do what we love to do.

3 thoughts on “Thank You

Leave a Reply

