Why Are We Here?

While I am certain I can’t help you with that question in a broad sense, dear readers, I can shed some light on why we’re here on this little blog.

Well, why I’m here.

evening sceneThe other day, a friend asked me why I started A Glass of Milk.  And I told her that I did it to keep track of all the recipes I was making.  They’re from cookbooks, other blogs, torn out magazine pages, and of course, family members.  So this was a way to round everything up into one little spot online.

But when I go back through my old posts, I realize there’s another reason.

grocery shoppingEven if I didn’t know it then.  I’m here so I can remember.  This blog now houses three years’ worth of memories.  Three years’ worth of birthdays and holidays.  And three years’ worth of everydays.  Three years’ worth of evenings where I didn’t feel like making a real dinner, so I made something appetizer-y instead.

This is one of those meals.

mushroomsIt’s every bit as memorable as the show-stoppers I pull out on the big days.  Especially when the juices are sopped up with some of this.

I made it after I heard Joy and Tracy talking about it on their podcast.  Joy mentioned that it was the perfect dish to bring to a potluck.  I had all the ingredients ready to go when I hosted a potluck of my own.  And then the whole making sure everyone had a full glass thing got in the way, and I never actually made it.  Till one random night when I didn’t want to make a high maintenance dinner.

Sure, you could make this and entertain a crowd of vegetarians, or gluten-free guests.  Or, you could make it for yourself, while nursing a bottle of wine, and wearing your fuzzy slippers, and swinging by the table for just one more bite as the evening wears on.  It’s your choice.

To make enough for a little gathering, or for one, you will need:

  • 1 pound cremini, or white mushrooms, the larger ones cut in half
  • 2 T capers, drained, rinsed, and chopped (I didn’t have these, so left them out)
  • 3 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • 3 T unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1/4 C chopped flat leaf parsley, although chives wouldn’t be too bad either

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.  Toss mushrooms with capers, garlic, and oil, and a pinch of salt and generous pinch of pepper.  Pour in an oven-proof dish and top with pats of butter.  Roast, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms brown, and sauce below is bubbly, 15-20 minutes.  Stir in lemon juice and parsley and serve immediately.

 

2 thoughts on “Why Are We Here?

  1. Pingback: Why Christmas was Awesome | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: What I’m Reading | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

