The Cookies I Was Too Busy Eating to Blog About.

Or, buttermilk makes everything better.

These cookies are long gone.  They’ve had their day in the sun.  Wooden Nickels got some.  CV(D) got some.  So did AGOMYR.  So did Hey Girl Hey.  Sorry we didn’t save any for you.

stackedThey’re completely random cookies, that I pinned, from a new-to-me blog.  I made them because I really wanted to make cookies, and because they called for buttermilk, and because I had buttermilk I needed to use.

And isn’t that always how you stumble on the best recipes?  Completely by chance?  These took me by surprise. I expected a standard chocolate cookie, one that would satisfy my need to make cookies, and let me move on with my life.  Instead I was finding excuses to eat them for breakfast, lunch, and dinner desserts.  They blew me away.

To make 4 dozen, you will need:

  • 2 C flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 C butter, melted
  • 3/4 C cocoa powder
  • 2 C sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2/3 C buttermilk
  • 2 C chocolate chips
  • kosher salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk first three ingredients in a small bowl.  In a large bowl, melt butter.  Stir in cocoa powder till smooth.  Beat in sugar, vanilla, and buttermilk till combined.  Fold in flour.  Fold in chocolate chips.

Drop cookies in one-inch balls on parchment lined baking sheet.  Top each with a sprinkle of kosher salt.  Bake 10-12 minutes, until cookies look set around edges.

2 thoughts on “The Cookies I Was Too Busy Eating to Blog About.

  1. Wooden Nickels can hardly wait to see what you bring next visit! I just bought all the ingredients to make my great-grandmother’s chocolate chip cookies again sometime soon! Everyone seems to love them!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

