Nutella

I believe that Nutella is best eaten from a spoon.

Slowly.

With your eyes closed.

Full disclosure, mine are usually rolled back in my head at this point.

I have yet to find a baked good that incorporates Nutella in a way that does not mask its taste.  So far, everything has let me down.  Why drown what is already perfect in more chocolate, or worse, *shudder,* more sugar?

Enter Nutella ice cream.

A throwback to the cup after cup (after cup after cup) of Nutella gelato I inhaled while in Rome.

It’s pure, unadulterated, chocolate-hazelnut goodness.

I <3 Nutella

This recipe comes to me via one of the most talented ladies I know.  Nurse by day, novelist by night, and closet baker.  Not to mention the lady I consult with before attempting to rock a scarf.  She is French, after all.  She brought me some at work the other day, and I felt nice enough to share.

When I first took a spoonful, I moaned.  CV(D) got all giggly.  Make this for your friends and see what it does to them!

Nutella ice cream

All you need is Nutella, evaporated milk, and an ice cream maker.*  Let’s get moving, we shouldn’t wait any longer.

To make enough ice cream for a hungry twosome, or a polite, reserved four, you will need:

  • 1 1/2 C Nutella (one regular sized jar, but I buy the big guy)
  • 1 can (12.5 oz.) evaporated milk (fat free will give you a thinner ice cream, but will do just fine)

Whir the Nutella and evaporated milk in a blender till fully combined.  Chill mixture in fridge for an hour (or as long as it takes you to run out and do your errands).  Pour into an ice cream maker and freeze according to the directions on your machine.  Let ice cream continue to firm up in the freezer at least another 2 hours.

*According to one of the original food blog greats, Clotilde, you don’t even need an ice cream maker if you have a little time on your hands.  Looking at you, CV(D).  Make it happen.

4 thoughts on “Nutella

  1. This sounds WONDERFUL! Love Nutella (I mean really, who doesn’t??) When I am not also eating it from the jar, my favorite way to use it is with crepes. Some nutella along with strawberries and bananas on a crepe…yum!
    Now I need to go off and buy an ice cream maker! 😉
    Kenley

  2. Maybe if it weren’t so freezing!! I think your chicken soup with rice is a more likely candidate. Next time the hubs is out of town I might have the time to invest in making this sweet treat for myself… I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

