The Kind of Neighbor I Want to Be

On my snow day, a magical thing happened.

lemon blueberry muffinsYes, I made these muffins, but there’s more to them than that.

These muffins were a little idea I had when I noticed some blueberries and buttermilk lingering in my fridge.  I googled buttermilk blueberry muffins and got here.  And then I made them.  A simple little story.  Until I ran into my new neighbor whilst taking out the trash.  He and his girlfriend have been bringing their belongings, little by little, to the unit beneath us.  And he was nice, and he seemed normal, and he might have even had, dare I say it, friend potential.

We made the (ten step) walk back to our house together, and I recognized a certain lemony scent wafting down towards the hallway.  My muffins!  I sent my new pal on his way with a four-pack and patted myself on the back.  Now, for all he knows, I’m that neighbor who always has something baking.

To make 14 of your own surprise-someone muffins, you will need:

  • 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 C all purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 C sugar
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 2 T lemon juice
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 C buttermilk
  • 1 T vanilla
  • 4 T unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 1/2 C fresh blueberries
  • 1 T turbinado sugar, optional

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line muffin tins with paper liners.  Mix flours, salt, baking powder, and baking soda in medium bowl.  In large measuring cup, whisk sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, egg, buttermilk, and vanilla till combined.  Slowly pour buttermilk mixture, and melted butter into dry ingredients, stopping to stir (with a spatula) from the bottom of the bowl until everything is mixed.  A couple lumps are no big deal.  Fold blueberries in with the spatula till incorporated.  Be careful not to mix past the point where everything is together.  You want the fruit distributed enough so that each muffin will have a couple blueberry pieces, and once you’re there, you’re done.  Scoop enough batter to fill each muffin tin (these don’t have much of a rise).  If desired, sprinkle the top of each muffin with turbinado (or granulated) sugar, so it crisps up while baking.  Pop these in the oven for 20-25 minutes, or until tester comes out clean.

I like them best fresh out of the oven.

5 thoughts on “The Kind of Neighbor I Want to Be

Leave a Reply

