I Can’t Leave Well Enough Alone

This is not a new finding.

red velvetI have a favorite red velvet cupcake, and a favorite cream cheese frosting, and yet I am always looking for something new.

joyThis time around, I made the frosting Joy recommends (or at least, my spin on it) in lieu of my old standby, and was amazed at the difference a hint of cinnamon makes.  Do you see those little flecks in the swirls?  I die!

joy 2I made Joy’s cupcakes exactly as she recommended, but I tweaked the frosting recipe so I’d have a higher cream cheese to butter ratio, and enough to be piped on my dozen cupcakes.  These are my new fave, and dare I say it? Better than these!

To make enough frosting for a dozen cupcakes, you will need:

  • 4 T unsalted butter, softened
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 4 or 5 C powdered sugar
  • scant 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Cream butter and cream cheese in mixer till smooth.  Slowly add powdered sugar till incorporated.  Add cinnamon.  When everything is well-mixed, I like to crank up the mixer to whip the frosting for a minute or so.  I like the texture it gives.

 

3 thoughts on “I Can’t Leave Well Enough Alone

  1. Pingback: When in Doubt, Make Muffins | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: How I Decided What Flavors to Make | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: Classic Cupcakes | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

