What I Don’t Do

We’re taking this week to get to know each other a little, dear readers.  It doesn’t mean there won’t be anything food related, but if you’re here to see what I ate for dinner, check back next week.

pinkberry

Apparently I was the world’s last person to read this post, but it got me thinking about things I don’t do.  Since I’m such a to-do list-maker, it was fun to make a don’t-do list.

breakfast

  1. I don’t respond with “busy” or “tired” when people ask me how I’m doing.  Well, I try not to.  Sometimes I reach a point of exhaustion where I just can’t be held accountable for anything I say.  When others respond this way I get super peeved, so I try not to make a habit of saying it myself.  We’re all busy.  We all have only 24 hours in a day.  We’re all tired.  None of us got the sleep we wanted to last night.  But we’re also all doing the best we can.  And we can do better when it comes to conversational skills.
  2. I don’t try to impress people.  Please don’t read that wrong and think that it’s not important to me that I put my best foot forward.  If you come to my house, I will try and make myself presentable, and get the clutter off the horizontal surfaces, and if you’re a friend in need there isn’t much I won’t do for you.  But I do those things because they are important to me, not because I want you to like me for them.  In draft form, this one started out as, I don’t care what people think.  But that’s not really true.  I care enough to want friends, and to have them know how much I appreciate everything they bring to my life.  I just want them to like me for me, not the show I put on around them.
  3. I don’t do it all.  I love to cook and bake, and I don’t mind telling people I’m not half bad at it.  But I’m no good at DIYs, and thus, there are 18 million projects I’d like to, but am not going to, tackle at home anytime soon.  I certainly can’t figure out how to keep my house clean enough from one week to the next.  And I haven’t read the classics.  Not kidding, I would love to go head to head with you in a discussion about the Bronte sisters, or Shakespeare’s greatest work, but unfortunately, I’m going to have to sit that one out.
  4. I don’t say no enough.  That’s something I’ve been practicing this year.  I want to please everyone, and go to every birthday party, and sure I can bring cupcakes, and yes, I’d love to hang out this weekend for brunch, and wow, is it exhausting when you glance at your monthly calendar, and it’s full on most days.  I’ve learned that building in downtime is so important to my day-to-day functioning as a normal human being.  I’ve learned that it’s okay to say no, even if you could say yes.  As in, yes, the space on my calendar is free, but looking at the day before and the day after, that is the only free space in a 72 hour span, and it’s okay to leave it that way.  So no, I’m so sorry, I can’t make it.
  5. I don’t try new foods.  Bad food blogger!  I’m such a baby, and Wooden Nickels and my husband could go on ad nauseum about this.  Bottom line: I know what I like, and I don’t want to risk wasting a could-be-perfect meal on a new dish that would fall short of expectations.

Your turn, dear readers.  What don’t you do?

8 thoughts on “What I Don’t Do

  1. And now I fully understand why we are friends. I’m really good at #4, so if you need some help implementing, I’m your gal. I’m also excellent at #5. We already knew I rock #2 like it’s my job. Something I am not so good at is #1 – thank you for giving me something to work on. 🙂

  2. I don’t sleep-in….ever. Even on my days off! I find my mind racing with all that I want to accomplish. I find I’m far more productive in the morning whereas evenings are for louging and relaxing. FACT: I was up before 5am this past weekend….I should also note that I was in bed at 9:30.

  3. I don’t know what I don’t do. This post has given me some food for thought. (pun not intended)
    Also, that 19 things thing, I think I was actually the last to read it, and I think I have a lot of bad habits to cut in the next 2.5 years…

  4. Pingback: What I (Still) Don’t Do | a glass of milk

  5. Pingback: Thursday Check In – The Other Half of the Sentence | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

