Something Is Not Right

Something is quite wrong!

(Did you love all things Madeline when you were growing up?  I couldn’t get enough of her.)

But more importantly, a note about me.   I don’t have the taste for sweets that I used to.

Pause.

React.

Ugh, it hurts to type this, but it’s sort of true.  I took a handful of M&Ms the other day and was almost grossed out at how sweet they are.  My favorite cereal has been leaving a sugary taste behind long after I’ve finished slurping the last of the milk from the bowl.  And when Newman’s Own Lemonade (which has long been my favorite store-bought brand) tasted too syrupy the other day, I knew I had a full-blown problem on my hands.

nutella pretzel browniesPlease don’t hate me.  It’s not like I’ve lost ten pounds.  It’s not like I’ve changed my eating habits.  If anything, I’m sneaking more sweet bites here and there, in hopes things have changed.  They haven’t.  But I stand before you today, dear readers, giving you my word that I’m not going to go all crunchy granola on you.

nutella pretzel brownies 2These sweet/salty Nutella pretzel brownies (adapted from here) are evidence to the contrary.  Plus enough salt to overpower any sugar issues with which you might currently be grappling.  They were my addition to a Memorial Day get together (with this staple, of course).  Make them.  Eat them.  Love them.

To make an 8 x 8 pan, you will need:

  • 1/2 C cocoa powder
  • 1/2 C flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 C unsalted butter
  • 1 C sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/3 C Nutella
  • Pretzels, for topping

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour an 8 x 8 baking pan (or spray with cooking spray).Melt butter in large bowl and let cool to room temperature.  In small bowl, combine cocoa powder, flour, baking powder and salt.  Whisk sugar into butter till smooth.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating each till incorporated.  Beat in vanilla and Nutella.  Add flour mixture slowly, mixing just till combined, and no lumps remain. Pour batter into prepared pan and press pretzels gently over top of brownies. Bake 35-40 minutes, or till a tester comes out clean.  Let brownies cool completely before cutting into squares to serve.

 

2 thoughts on “Something Is Not Right

Leave a Reply

