The Perfect Potato

Though I tout my love of pasta frequently, I don’t want you to get the wrong impression, dear readers.  I am an equal opportunity carb lover.  Especially if said carb is a potato.  Fried, baked, mashed, gratined, gnocchied–I love them with affection unspeakable.  I even love potato bread, for goodness sake.

greek potatoesEnter, the Greek potato, courtesy of Dinner, a Love Story.  I’m not a good Greek food eater.  Feta and dill aren’t my thing.  But these are Greek not for those two regulars, but because of the lemon and oregano that sizzle and pop in the oven right alongside the potatoes.  The best roasted potatoes I’ve ever had.  And I’ve had some good ones.  They’re roasted at 500 degrees, a temperature I’m a little afraid of.  I mean, seriously, how often do you turn the oven to 500 degrees?

What that absurd level of heat does, for these humble little spuds, is create the crunchiest shell imaginable, that upon one toothy bite, gives way to an oil-drenched, gushy center.  We blew through a 5 pound bag of potatoes using this cooking method, and I’ve got the next bag on the counter, ready for our cookout tomorrow.

greek potato lunch

To make a roasting pan full of Greek Potatoes, you will need:

  • a dish than can handle a heat of 500 degrees.  Not a glass one.  I used my roasting pan, but a cast-iron would work as well.
  • 3 large, russet potatoes, cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 C water
  • 1/2 C good olive oil (holy yum!)
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 T dried oregano
  • Kosher salt
  • fresh ground black pepper

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees.  Place the potatoes in a single layer on the bottom of the dish.  Combine remaining ingredients in a measuring cup, or small bowl, and pour over potatoes.  Roast 45-50 minutes until potatoes are brown around edges, and most of oil has been absorbed.  Finish with another sprinkle of salt, if you like that kind of thing.

*a  note:  Remember when I said I needed to work on building my repertoire of foods that are low maintenance?  This is one of those.

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Potato

  1. My favorite way to do potatoes. Though I typically try not to turn on the oven when the temp roses above 90… Especially when I’m having a cookout.

Leave a Reply

