Throwback Thursday

So that’s a thing now, Throwback Thursday.  As in, please enjoy this old photo (a throwback, if you will) while I have a minute of nostalgia for the days of yore.

posedThree and half years ago = yore, right?

That’s when I got married and my friends from high school came and we posed for a photo.

Who cares?

Something else happened three plus years ago.  I got married and my friends from high school came and our (brilliant) photographer captured this moment of my friends and me before we were ready to smile and say cheese.

WeddingOct10 0990

I was going through my wedding photos the other day for an entirely different purpose, when I clicked on this one.  These are my friends.  See the two on the left and the one on the right?  Yeah, I’ve known each of them since first grade.  That one to my left?  Since fourth.  And the two to her left?  Since sixth.  Though we’re all first born girls, we’re a total mixed bag when it comes to personalities.  We muddled through our most awkward years together and we came out alive.  And I think that’s one of the only things in life that can bring you as close as we all seem in this picture.  I miss them.

I wish I could invite them all over after school (something I’m quite famous for doing at a moment’s notice, hi Wooden Nickels) to hang out and watch TV.  What did we watch in our throwback days?  Oprah, if I was holding the remote (and I probably was, hi Wooden Nickels).  No matter what was on TV, you can be sure we’d be sharing an afternoon snack.

strawberry milk cupcakesOur house was never without chocolate or strawberry milk, so when I saw these strawberry milk cupcakes, I knew one bite would take me back to after school snack time.  I threw them together as fast as I could get my hands on the Nesquik.  Now what to do with the rest of the container?

strawberry milk cupcakes 2To make 18 strawberry milk cupcakes, you will need:

For the cupcakes:

  • 5 T unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 3/4 C all purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 C sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 C whole milk, at room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1/4 C strawberry milk powder

For the frosting:

  • 3 3/4 C powdered sugar
  • 11 T unsalted butter
  • 4 T whole milk
  • 1/3 C strawberry milk powder

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line cupcake tins with paper liners.

Mix butter, flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt in bowl of an electric mixer fitted with paddle attachment.  In large measuring cup, mix milk, eggs and strawberry milk.  Add half of milk mixture to the dry ingredients, stopping to scrape down the bowl as necessary.  Add remaining milk mixture, and beat till incorporated.  Fill muffin tins 2/3 full, and bake 22 minutes.

To make frosting, beat butter in the bowl of a mixer, adding sugar till smooth.  When it looks like can’t incorporate any more sugar, add half of milk mixture.  Continue adding sugar, adding more milk, as necessary, and beat till smooth.

Frost cupcakes once they’ve cooled completely, and serve, with, of course, a tall glass of milk.

Leave a Reply

