On Taking German

When people find out that I, the fair-skinned, blue-eyed type, am a Lopez, they ask where the name comes from.  I tell people all about my wonderful, Chilean husband, and what inevitably follows is the question, “Wow, do you speak Spanish?”

To which the answer is a resounding “No!”

Insert joke about me only knowing the words for ice cream (helado) and wine (vino tinto or vino blanca, por favor) here.

beautiful dayBecause, dear readers, in high school, I took German.  A language that you’d be hard pressed to find in many high schools anymore, but one that I loved without abandon.  Though I dream of being able to turn French phrases in the most elegant of situations, I’m too busy dotting my vowels with umlauts, and combining oodles nouns into mega-words like geschwindigkeitsbegrenzung to even think about it.  Yep.  That’s a word.  It means speed limit.

I digress.

peoniesAll this is to say that my friend K, from The Adventures of Z and K, nominated me for the Liebster Award.  It means she loves me.  In German.  And it means I have to answer these questions:

1.  Have you ever done any type of volunteer work? If so what? If not, what organization would you like to support?

Yep.  Lots.  Mostly through church, and mostly with kids.  Now that my job involves children, that’s something I haven’t devoted as much time to lately.

2.  Where did you go to college? What was your major? Were you in any clubs?

Well K, it’s funny you should ask.  K and I went to Maryland together, and though our majors were different, we shared a club.  We both walked backwards gave tours throughout our campus a couple times a week.  Because I’m a total joiner, I was also in a sorority, and interned at the Education office at school.

3.  What is the best concert you’ve gone to? Any artist you’ve seen more than once?

In terms of best, I will give Billy Joel and Elton John the edge over James Taylor, simply because there were two of them there is only one of him.  I’ve seen an impressive number of teenyboppers way more than twice, and Dave Matthews more than that.  The best concert I’ve ever been to though, goes to the greatest singer in the world, Celine Dion.  This may have something to do with my free upgrade to seats right behind her husband and son.  It was like I could reach out and touch her.  She was the wallpaper of my flip phone for way too long to admit to people I have to look in the eyes.  Bonus points to those of you who can spot the two movie/TV references in this answer.

4.  How many weddings have you been in as a bridesmaid or Maid of Honor?

I was Cari Faye’s Matron of Honor a couple Mays ago.  She let me eat 2 pounds of French Fries with her, while I got my face painted and my hair did.  In return, I taught her what to do with a Dutch Oven.  Hey Cari Faye, have you used it yet?

5.  Have you ever met a celebrity?

While out and about in Lyford (oh man, I love how that sounds) I bumped into Sean Connery.  At the time (many moons ago), I didn’t know why that was such a big deal.  My British aunt, on the other hand, went into a panic.  As an equally impressive follow-up, I met Paula Deen’s sons, Jamie and Bobby, while visiting Queen Cupcake in Savannah.  And let us never forget the time CV(D) and I met John and Sherry.

6.  What is your current guilty pleasure song?

I listen to No Church in the Wild and/or Mirrors on the way to work every.  single.  day.

cupcakesI’m supposed to tag blogger friends, but I’d rather ask you, dear readers. Chime in in the comments.

  • What language did you take in high school?
  • What should I read in my beach chair this summer?
  • How are you going to spend your June, July, and August?

5 thoughts on “On Taking German

  1. You should read every Sarah Dessen novel that she’s ever written.
    I took seven years of French, four of Latin (hic haec hoc, LOVED it), and 2 of español).
    I am going to play in my garden and sit like a lump and take long walks.
    Wow! You heard Celine Dion in person? Who did you ever get to go with you???
    (“Once.
    More.
    You OOOOOHHHHHHHHpen the door. . . .”)

  2. Mit Vernunft oder mit Gewalt or as they say in Chile: Por la razón o la fuerza.

    BTW WN, utor,fruor, potior, and vescor all take the ablative case.

  3. 1. Latin and Spanish
    2. Anything that says “a novel” on the cover… you’ll love it, I’m sure.
    3. Thinking about school too much… hanging out with family, going on a motorcycle trip north, and taking too many trainings for school… then hopefully nothing for the first 2 weeks of August!

  4. First things first, I am (ashamed) to admit I still have not used the dutch oven. Ask me how many times I’ve been dutch-ovened though 😉

    Now onto the questions:
    1- Spanish. Conversational spanish my senior year. And to think I can’t speak a lick of it anymore. Maybe Chileany can help me out?
    2- I’m currently hooked on all of Gillian Flynn’s books. Better yet, how about watching tv in your beach chair? If you can do that, I vote for Parenthood. Over and over and over again.
    3- Can I be a teacher so that June, July, and August are different from the rest of the year? 2 weddings, a trip to the beach, a handful of Oriole games, and hopefully a crab feast or 2.

Leave a Reply

