On Down Time

I heard something new about introverts the other day.

busy weekI was listening to the Simple Mom Podcast, not because I’m simple or a mom, but because I really like Tsh, and she and her cohost were talking about where they stood on the Myers Briggs personality test.

–Which, if you’ve never heard of it, doesn’t matter, except that one aspect of it labels you either an introvert (I) or extrovert (E).–

Dear readers, if you ask anyone who has known me for more than 10 minutes, they will identify me as an extrovert.  And I would have identified me as an extrovert.  I’m loud.  I like seeing people.  I like doing stuff.  But Tsh’s cohost Megan was talking about how an extrovert is fueled by getting together with others, while an introvert needs serious time to recover from social interaction (at the 38:00 mark here).

Wait, am I an introvert?  I’m sure this book could enlighten me.  I spend a significant amount of down time in between activities, no matter how packed my calendar may be.  If my husband tries to talk to me after work, but before I’ve had a chance to click through social media and unwind for the day, he doesn’t get the best possible version of me.  I have to recharge, and I do it best alone.

mudslide cookieMaybe I’m a lot more introverted than I thought.  During a recent recharge, I made Jessica’s Salted Mudslide Cookies and holy Kahlua, they were amazing.  These + the West Elm catalog were just what I needed to catch my breath before my next adventure.

I proffer serious warnings before letting them leave my hands because the Kahlua taste remains fairly strong in these cookies, which I find to be a beautiful thing.  Dusted with sea salt they’re just right.  And they hold up well after a couple of days, which I always appreciate in a cookie.  Obviously that gooey, just-out-of-the-oven-heavenliness can only be captured once, but these have some solid staying power.  If you let them linger that long.

To make 3 dozen, you will need:

2 C + 2 T flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 cup dark cocoa powder (shhhh, I just used regular)
3 tablespoons instant coffee powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 stick (1/2 cup) of unsalted butter, melted and cooled for 10-15 minutes
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk, at room temperature
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/4 cup coffee liqueur + 1 teaspoon (Godiva, Kahlua, etc)
1 cup chocolate chunks (Ghiradell, you complete me)
sea salt for topping

Mix flour, baking soda, cocoa powder, coffee powder and sea salt in medium bowl.  Mix butter and sugars in a large bowl till smooth.  Add egg, egg yolk, vanilla, and Kahlua, and beat till smooth.  Slowly beat in flour mixture.  Fold in chocolate chunks.  Let cookie dough sit in fridge to firm up a bit, and preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Bake cookies on parchment lined sheets for 10 minutes.  Sprinkle with sea salt before cool (there’s something about this step that ensure the cookies will hold onto it).  Eat while still warm, or store in an air-tight container and hang onto them.

3 thoughts on “On Down Time

Leave a Reply

