Better Than “Pretty Good”

Well hello, dear readers.  Sorry for the unannounced hiatus–it’s summer, it happens!  Today, I’m bringing back a post from April, 2012, now with 200% more photos!  In case evidence of my making a dish more than once isn’t evidence for you to go running to crank up the stove, maybe it would help if I told you we love this meal more every time?  This summer, we topped it with guac instead of avocado sliced, but please, you have to follow your own heart there.

chili lime burger 2

Most of my days have a similar rhythm.  I wake up, get dressed, make a smoothie, check Facebook and Twitter, make myself look slightly more awake than I feel, kiss my husband goodbye, and head to work.  I clock in, make the rounds, clock out, and I’m headed home.  When I arrive, I have anywhere between 1 and 8 hours before my husband returns.  That time is sacred and holy.  That time is for Pinterest and Homefries, talking on the phone with AGOMYR, and making a mess of the kitchen.  I lovingly prepare a balanced meal for my husband to enjoy when he returns from the mines.

We sit down.

He takes his first bite.

“What do you think?” I ask, before he even has a chance to chew.

He nods his head.

“It’s pretty good.”

Pretty good.  There it is.  The kiss of death.  Almost everything I make is “pretty good.”  It’s probably for the best as it certainly keeps my ego in check.  And it keeps me on my toes in the kitchen.

He tells me it should also help me know when something is amazing.  These dishes get a slightly more enthusiastic, and ever-elusive, “Really good.”  Previous “really good” meals have been this chicken, and this pork.

chili lime burger

The other night, we hit “really good” territory when I made Iowa Girl Eats’ chili lime chicken burgers.  This one picture is the only proof of its brief existence in our kitchen because when you put a gussied up burger, topped with cheese and guacamole in front of me, I can’t be bothered to do much else but eat.

To make 4, you will need:

  • 1 lb. ground chicken or turkey
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • 1/4 C minced bell pepper
  • 2 T chopped cilantro
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • zest and juice of 1/2 a lime
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 4 slices cheese
  • 4 buns

Mix the meat, scallions, bell pepper, cilantro, garlic, salt, pepper flakes, lime zest, and juice in a large bowl until combined.  Shape mixture into 4 patties.  Heat a couple tablespoons of oil in a large saute pan, and add patties.  Cook 3 or 4 minutes on each side.  Reduce heat and top with cheese.  Cover the pan, and cook another 2 minutes, until cheese is melted.  Transfer burgers to buns, and top with avocado slices.

One thought on “Better Than “Pretty Good”

Leave a Reply

