7 Years!

I think it’s silly that we only celebrate anniversaries with our signifs.

summer shandy cupcake

About 7 years ago, I met CV(D).

About 6 years and 11 months ago, we determined that had we met earlier in life, we would have hated each other.

About 6 years and 9 months ago, we realized we couldn’t live without each other.

About 6 years ago, we figured out that margaritas and chips would get us through the year we were having.

About 5 years ago, we started working closer than we ever had before.

About 4 years and 10 months ago, she predicted that my husband would propose to me before Thanksgiving was over.  She was right.

About 4 years ago, she couldn’t stop talking about a boy, and I knew there was something different about this one.  I was right.

About 3 years ago, we developed an ability to finish each others’ sentences.

About 2 years ago, we started spending as much time together as was humanly possible.

About 1 year ago, we stopped saying goodbye, and started saying, “Never leave me.”

And about 1 month ago, we had a Starbucks date where I stopped and wondered if I could figure out the exact moment she became one of my best friends.

summer shandy cupcakes 2

Happy birthday, Mrs. CV(D), I made you my favorite cupcakes I’ve ever made in my life. Here’s to our 8th year of love!

To make 24 Summer Shandy cupcakes, you will need:

For the cupcakes:

  • 3/4 C unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 3/4 C sugar
  • 2 1/2 C flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • lemon zest from half a lemon
  • 1 C summer shandy beer
  • 1/4 C milk

For the frosting:

  • 12 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 8 oz. unsalted butter, softened
  • lemon zest from other half of lemon
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 4 C powdered sugar

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line 24 muffin tins with paper liners.

For the cupcakes, beat butter and sugar in mixer till light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes.  Beat in eggs, one at a time, stopping to scrape bowl as necessary.  Add vanilla and lemon zest and mix till incorporated.  In smaller bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt.  In small bowl or measuring cup, mix milk and beer.  Add flour alternately with beer mixture, beginning and ending with flour.

Fill muffin tins 2/3 full with batter and bake 18 minutes.

To make frosting, beat butter and cream cheese till smooth.  Add lemon zest and lemon juice and beat till smooth.  Slowly beat in sugar until well combined.  I tend to kick up the speed at this point and see if I can whip things smooth in about a minute.

Wait till cupcakes are completely cool to frost them, then share with friends.

One thought on “7 Years!

Leave a Reply

