My Love Language

If you are fluent in love languages then you know that there are 5:

  • words of affirmation
  • acts of service
  • receiving gifts
  • quality time
  • physical touch

and that the idea is these are five ways to both express and experience love.  And each of us has one or two which we prefer.

Sure, it’s a little kumbaya, but I’m kind of into it.

spread

Without a doubt I express my love through:

  • physical touch–It sounds weird, but I promise it just means I’m always touching people’s arms while they’re talking to me.  Oh, wait, that sounds weird, too.
  • acts of service

And when I say acts of service, what it I really mean is feeding people.

Feeding people is my love language.

If you are going through something tough, you can bet I’ll be there for you.

With lasagna in a pan and cookies on a plate.

chocolate coconut oatmeal cookies

It’s my way of saying I love you.  And food makes me feel good, so maybe it will work its magic on you, too.

chocolate coconut oatmeal cookies 2

These cookies are good for that.

To make 3 dozen bite-sized chocolate coconut oatmeal cookies, you will need:

  • 1 1/4 C oats
  • 1 1/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 C melted coconut oil
  • 3/4 C dark brown sugar (shhhh, I used light)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons milk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2/3 C shredded coconut (sweetened or not, I used sweetened)
  • 2/3 C chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In bowl, combine oats, flour, baking soda, and salt, and set aside.  With mixer, beat oil and sugar till combined and smooth.  Add egg, milk, and vanilla, and beat till smooth again.  Slowly beat in dry ingredients.  Fold in coconut and chocolate chips with a spatula.

Drop cookie dough in rounded tablespoons on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 9 minutes, just till cookies turn golden brown.

2 thoughts on “My Love Language

  1. Pingback: Holiday Baking | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

