The Mushy Part

Oh man did I love Full House growing up.  I’m not sure what it was about that show, but I couldn’t get enough of it.  Seriously, when my mom needed a solid punishment, taking away the new episode on Tuesday was about as rough as it could get for me.  And as Wooden Nickels watched over my shoulder more days than she’d probably care to admit, she noted that each show contained a “mushy part,” a vignette in which the synthesizer soundtrack kicks into high gear, and one of those adorable Tanner daughters realized the error of her ways.

Aside from a 90s sitcom or two (Dear readers, Steve came back!), I am not the most emotional person, which worked in my favor whilst I searched for an emotionally stable life partner.  I found one, we got married, and my world has continued to spin, mush-free, ever since.

With the exception of one little tradition.

drinks

Every year, we eat at the same place we ate (and loved) on our honeymoon.

It’s a tradition I look forward to all year.

And this year, I had the most amazing salad.

peach salad

Peaches,

Arugula,

Ricotta,

Country ham,

Salted pistachios,

And vanilla black pepper vinaigrette.

When I saw it on the menu, it reminded me of these, and I knew I had to have it.

market peach

And then it was a matter of time before I had to make it for myself.

peach salad

I couldn’t make it exactly as it was put before me back in North Carolina, but I came pretty close.  I swapped out the country ham for prosciutto, and the vanilla vinaigrette for honey.  It was a beautiful way to savor what summer has to offer.  And when we ate it, my icy-cold heart got to indulge in a little more mushiness over again.

I don’t have an exact recipe, but I’ll tell you what I did.

Place a generous schmear of ricotta (this is my fave) on a plate.  Pile a heap of arugula on top.  Tear up a piece of prosciutto and drop over top of salad.  Cut peach into large chunks, and nestle into greens.  Dress with this vinaigrette, sans shallots and garlic.

One thought on “The Mushy Part

Leave a Reply

