On the Humble Hamburger

I often neglect hamburgers when it comes to quick dinners.  Which is funny because they are one of my favorite things to go out to eat.  I doubt there’s a hamburger joint in the DC metro area that I haven’t hit up.  Medium rare, dripping with cheese.  Yes, please.

But when I’m planning dinners for the week, I simply forget they exist as an at-home option.

Until I saw this.  Hello weeknight dinner.

turkey chorizo burger

Yes I ate mine sans grocery store bun + perfectly cooked white rice.  I’m a carb snob.

To make 6 patties you will need:

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1/2 lb. chorizo sausage
  • 2 T vegetable oil
  • cheddar cheese slices
  • 2 avocados, diced
  • hamburger buns (if you’re a normal human)

Combine turkey and chorizo in bowl.  Get your hands down in that mess and mix everything up till it’s well combined.  Score the meat with your hands and section it off like a 6-pack.  Shape meat into patties.  At this stage of the game, I will stack any patties I’m not cooking, with wax paper in between, seal them up tightly in a reusable container, and freeze them.  I find nothing more foul than a re-heated hamburger.  Blech. Okay, grab the patties you need for dinner tonight.

Pour oil in skillet and raise heat to high.  When oil is hot, add patties.  Cook about 5 minutes on one side, flip and cook five minutes on the next.  Lower the heat, add a slice of cheese, cover, and cook just till cheese melts, about 2 minutes.  Place on a bun and top with avocado.  Serve immediately.

2 thoughts on “On the Humble Hamburger

  1. You are clearly genetically related to your grandfather, who LOVED cheeseburgers cooked medium rare!!!!! All the fancy-schmancy restaurants in the world were not as good as the local hamburger joint to him!!!

  2. Pingback: Taco Night | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

