How I Decided What Flavors to Make

Dear readers, we’re in the midst of a little series of posts on the cupcakes I made for AGOMYR’s wedding.

date and display

What I’m most impressed with is not that I made the cupcakes, nor that they tasted good.  What will stick with me is that AGOMYR and I are still friends.  I baked 120 cupcakes for her wedding and there was not one bridezilla moment to be found.  It’s not that I thought there would be, but seriously, dear readers.  This girl gave me free rein on everything.

I hope I didn’t put her to through too much.

I’m so glad you all can’t open my inbox and see ourmy multi-paragraph email about which cupcake liners would work best (for the record, these and these), or what color cake stand would compliment the decor (for the record, play it safe with off-white).

cake

The flavor decision was a daunting one.  I knew I wanted two or three options.  Here’s what I considered:

  • The flavors had to sound amazing to AGOMYR and her husband to-be,
  • While keeping a majority of guests pretty happy too,
  • But they also had to be easy for me to make.

Condition #1 introduced the idea of a boozy cupcake, and completely wiped the idea of a chocolate peanut butter one.  Hold the peanut butter for AGOMYR, thankyouverymuch.  The second condition meant that there needed to be a “safe” flavor that wasn’t too out-there for my picky eaters.  Sure picky eaters like cupcakes, but not weirdly-infused, foodie cupcakes.  And the third condition (sadly) wiped out any filled cupcakes from the potentials list.  I love the way filled cupcakes turn out, but they’re so much more time consuming than regular cupcakes.  As a rookie wedding-cupcake-baker, I didn’t want to set myself up for a fail.  I wanted to sleep soundly, knowing that I would get to Charlottesville with 10 dozen cupcakes and time to enjoy AGOMYR’s big day.

If you saw a cupcake on the blog between here and now, it’s likely said cupcake was a candidate for the wedding.  Thank goodness I have coworkers willing to take on the task of tasting these flavors, and downing the “fails.”  Some turned out too crumbly, and I feared they wouldn’t hold up to our 3 hour road trip to Veritas, while others missed the flavor mark completely.  But when all was said and done, AGOMYR and I could get behind the champagne cupcakes with champagne buttercream (linked above), red velvets with cinnamon cream cheese frosting, and chocolate with Nutella frosting (who couldn’t get behind Nutella frosting?).

piping

For the chocolate cupcakes I whipped up a batch of Martha Stewart’s one bowl chocolate cupcakes.

For the frosting, I started here, but did a little tweaking.  I whipped a stick and a half of softened butter with a heaping 2/3 C Nutella.  I added the teeniest pinch of salt, a splash of vanilla, and enough sugar to get a nice consistency.   When things looked a little thick, I added about 1 T of heavy cream.

chocolate cupcake

I piped them beautifully for AGOMYR, but enjoyed my humbly-frosted one the best.  I ate it in solitude at casa glass of milk, when all was said and done.

4 thoughts on “How I Decided What Flavors to Make

  1. Pingback: On Easy Baking [peanut butter snack cake] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

