What I’m Reading

Did you see this article about the woman whose boyfriend will propose once she makes him 300 sandwiches?  It’s got all kinds of people up in arms about the nature of love and feminism, but I think that’s taking things too seriously.  It’s cute, it’s fun, and who doesn’t love a good sandwich?  I scrolled through Stephanie’s blog, and moved her mortadella and ricotta sandwich to the top of my must-make list.

I legit spent a serious chunk of time this weekend being cranky about there not being any good chick flicks anymore.  Man, I sound old.  This is a bold claim, but I’m willing to fight you on the fact that there hasn’t been anything worth watching in that genre since “The Devil Wears Prada” in 2006.  And then, as if she read my thoughts, Carly posted this:

I know I posted a movie trailer last week, and I promise (at least I think I do) not to post one each week, but I feel like this one has potential.  My fingers are crossed.  And if it doesn’t pan out, I’ll always have Catching Fire.  So soon!

Because it fascinates me, I read all about Tsh’s plan to homeschool her kids this year, and thus, I was introduced to Duolingo.  It’s how she plans to teach her daughter Spanish as well as how she is learning French.  If you’ve known me more than 5 minutes you probably know that I am dying to learn French.  This is it!  Although I started back-tracking my way through my six years of German.  Ich habe alles vergessen.  Duolingo is changing everything.

Wooden Nickels and I both have an affinity for our IKEA Ektorps.  Turns out we were both sitting on them on Friday evening, her with a book and glass of wine in hand, me with a blanket and a laptop.  Which reminded me of the secret to IKEA’s furniture names.  Fun fact: IKEA used to make a bed that shared a (maiden) name with Wooden Nickels.

Dear readers, Oreo ice cubes are a thing.  And they go in Oreo iced coffee.  My life is forever changed.  Maybe I’ll give up Starbucks for Lent again, because, hey, no big deal, I have Oreo iced coffee!  I just bought a pack of double stuffs at the grocery store.

I’m not sure what it was about Tracy’s Everyday Life, Week 40, but I loved it.  I love all her weekly posts, but something about this one stood out to me.  I think it was the picture after the rain.  Or the Helen Jane.  She posted a couple weeks ago that she wants to start project life-ing and if she does, I sincerely hope she shares her pages because OMG, that book would be my new favorite.

I thought really seriously about turning AGOMYR’s simple wedding cake into a rose-filled creation, but decided against it in the end.  I wasn’t sure how I would console myself if it didn’t turn out perfectly.  And I certainly did not want to show my face to AGOMYR if it wasn’t just right.  And I certainly didn’t want to have to inch my way back into the kitchen to make a re-do.  But maybe, if she wants a little walk down memory lane for her first anniversary, I’ll see what I can whip up.  Washi tape bunting, and all.

We just got back from Charlottesville, one of the most beautiful places I know, and now that I’m up to date on the literary city guide, I’m ready to go back.  (Philly, too.)

Now that we’re on the subject, Charlottesville seems like the kind of town where you’d have drop-ins.  I really want to live somewhere drop-ins still exist.  Would you drop in on someone?  Or would you feel like you were putting them out?  You’d never be putting me out, dear readers.  Come say hi.

Leave a Reply

