In the Slow Cooker

AGOMYR asked me whether I knew of any slow cooker recipes that don’t involve cream of something soup.

Nope.

Not yet.

As of last weekend, I’ve used my slow cooker twice.  And both times, I used cream of mushroom soup.

pot roast

This time around I made pot roast, which tasted infinitely better than the time I made pot roast the old fashioned way.  And this was crazy easy.

I still get nervous leaving my slow cooker on all day, so I always use it when at least one of us will be at home the majority of the time it will be on.  I know no one else does that.  Dear readers, reassure me that my house won’t burn down if I leave it on when I’m not home!

If you need me, I’ll be chained to these four walls while it’s on.

To make pot roast for days, you will need:

  • 3 pound roast (buy something good; spend a little extra dough)
  • 2 cans reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup (if you go to Whole Foods or Trader Joes you can find a version that’s low sodium, but doesn’t have any other fakey ingredients)
  • 1 package onion soup mix (I have yet to find an onion soup mix without fakey ingredients, but you can make your own)
  • 1 package (8-10 oz) cremini mushrooms, sliced (but button are fine too)

Place all ingredients in slow cooker, and cook on low for 9-10 hours.  I turned the pot roast every couple hours.  Basically whenever I waltzed into the kitchen.

Serve with mashed potatoes.

4 thoughts on “In the Slow Cooker

  1. Nice post! Your maternal grandmother made the BEST pot roast in the world in a pressure cooker. Are pressure cookers still around??? She always served it with noodles and peas and homemade gravy. It was her kids’ absolute fave dinner. Thanks for taking me down memory lane!
    ♡♡♡

  2. Far be it from me to give you advice for the kitchen, but I always leave my slow cooker on during the day when we’re at work. So far, I haven’t burned down the place (which we know would be much more likely while I’m home and cooking anyway). I will say I think being able to stir the pot (literally) every few hours allows for more even cooking than leaving unattended all day.

    • I am so happy to say you have now given me cooking advice. Also, if a fellow Type-A can leave it on all day without worrying, I should be able to as well. Send me your fave recipes!

Leave a Reply

