Friendsgiving 2013

Something comes over me when my house is filled with friends.  It’s an ooey-gooey, warm, sunshine and rainbows type of happiness.  When one of my coworkers remarked that I was so nice to have everyone over for Friendsgiving, I told her that I didn’t even need to talk to anyone.  If all I did was walk around and refill everyone’s wine glasses, I would be over-the-moon happy.

friendsgiving

I did a little bit more than that last Friday when I invited my colleagues (who are also some near and dear friends) to come over for Friendsgiving.  A lot of bloggers are into the idea because it gives them a chance to share the holiday with friends in addition to family members.  It’s also the perfect excuse to try out a million and one new Thanksgiving recipes and get them up in time for you, the readers, to have them on your tables for the real deal holiday.

That wasn’t really the point of my Friendsgiving.  The point of mine was to share my favorite holiday with more people.

Mission accomplished.

And I did get one recipe out of the deal.

So you can have it too.

Bonus: it takes 0 effort.  I made it in less than 10 minutes (plus 9 hours of slow cooking).

To make turkey breast with orange and cranberry sauce, you will need:

  • 1, 6-7 pound turkey breast*, make sure it’s a size that will fit in your slow cooker
  • 1/2 C orange juice
  • 14 oz. can jellied cranberry sauce (whole berry)
  • 1 package onion soup mix

Put the turkey in the slow cooker.  Pour orange juice, cranberry sauce and onion soup mix in a measuring cup and stir till combined.  Pour over turkey.  Set slow cooker on low for 8-9 hours.

You can make gravy by following the directions on the site, but we carved our right on up, accompanied by toast, stuffing and cranberry sauce.  All you need to make the perfect Thanksgiving sandwich!

*A note: there is a chance that when you buy turkey breast from the grocery store this time of year, it is frozen.  If that’s the case, defrost it in the fridge for a day or two or three before cooking.

Leave a Reply

