Do Less, Be More

That’s what the Nester told me.

And I’m really trying to listen as this holiday season sneaks up on us.

I had all these Thanksgiving and Christmas plans swirling around in my head.  They contained, in no particular order, Pennsylvania, DC, North Carolina, and of course, Maryland basketball.  They also contained a ton of driving back and forth in a short period of days.  And cooking.

I knew it wouldn’t work.

I knew it was too much.

But I couldn’t figure it all out.

How was I going to fit everything in during the craziest weeks of the year?

And then, whilst resting comfortably in my favorite chair, I had an epiphany.

cupcakes

I wasn’t.

I cannot make the holidays happen in a happy way and do everything I want to do.

It would be great if I could, but I can’t.

So I prioritized.

Priority one was getting home to PA for a stretch of time.  Not just for a quick 24 hour trip to see a movie with Sous Chef Lauren, but for multiple, consecutive days.

Priority two was making sure I was in the general vicinity of a church on Christmas Eve.

And priority three was knowing that my days off work needed to not feel like I was constantly racing around.

rainbow pens

As soon as I figured out that those three things were what I was ultimately after, I knew exactly how to schedule my time.

I’m not making two trips home, which breaks my heart.  I’m not going to North Carolina, which stings a little, too.  But with any luck, I’m doing more.  I can spend some of that lost driving time baking cookies.  And I can get started on this series, which has been waiting for me entirely too long.  I can spend a huge chunk of time thinking up hiding places for our elf Larry.  I can work on a little Project Life just for fun.  And if my husband’s in a good enough mood, we’ll invite some friends over to enjoy it all with us.

Here’s to the holiday season.

Bring it on.

*A note: This cheesecake was, and still is, amazing.  In a recent text I described it as f!@#ing amazing.  I make a lot of baked goods and always get all awkward when people compliment me on them.  Not so with this cheesecake.  Make it, even if you think you’re not a cheesecake person.  I thought I wasn’t a cheesecake person.  Then I ate this cheesecake.  It should grace any and all holiday tables.

Leave a Reply

