Checking In

Dear readers, here we are, 12 days into January.  12 days into 2014.

How’s that working out for you?

It’s been pretty nice over here.  Smooth sailing, if you will.

I have a million things I need to tell you about in great detail.

notebooks

The first being my Whitney English Day Designer that I love.  Carry with me from one room of my house to the other, love.  I like to be near it at all times.  I need to vlog about it.  Like, yesterday.

60 days

The second being my tackling Fawnsberg’s 60 Days of Letter Writing.  They were kind enough to send me some pretty stationery, and I need to tell you why this is the best challenge ever.

reading

And the third being my love of reading that is a thing that is happening in my life again.  THANK YOU, JESUS.  My recent faves are this (oh, that one, it broke my heart), this, and this, depending on how it ends.  Coming up are this, this, and any of these because I own them all because thank you, Christmas gift cards!

I hope life has been going easy on you, dear readers.  I hope you are tackling whatever it was you wanted to tackle in 2014.

If you’re in need of a pick-me-up, may I suggest Nutella and Sea Salt Cookie Pie?  Love and Olive Oil made the most gorgeous from-scratch version, but I took the easy way out with pre-made Pillsbury products.  I brought this to a recent work event and the crowd went wild.

nutella sea salt cookie pie

To make Nutella and Sea Salt Cookie Pie, you will need:

  • 1 refrigerated pie crust, brought to room temperature per the directions on the box
  • 1/3 C Nutella, or other chocolate/nut butter spread
  • 1/4 C mini chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate)
  • 1/2 package sugar cookie dough (either break and bake, or slice and bake)
  • sea salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Unroll pie crust on ungreased cookie sheet and prick all over with fork.  Bake crust for 5 minutes.  Spread nutella over crust, leaving a 1/4 inch border around the edges.  Sprinkle with chocolate chips.  Slice break and bake cookies in half, or cut rounds from a slice and bake log, and then cut rounds in half, and arrange over pizza.  Top with sea salt, and bake, 20-25 minute, until edges of pie crust are golden.  Cut into slices and serve warm or at room temperature.

*Make this a day or two in advance, wrap it tightly, and store it in the fridge.

One thought on “Checking In

  1. Loved “Eleanor and Park” and “This is Where I Leave You.” Try “Dear American Airlines” sometime if you need to laugh–very good! I added your two other suggestions to my Goodreads “Wanna Read” list!

Leave a Reply

