What I’m Reading

Dear readers, it feels early, and a little nerve-wracking to declare (I’m mega-superstitious), but I have to say it.  2014 is my favorite.  I have more pep in my step than usual, and I think a lot of you are in that place with me.  If your year hasn’t felt that way yet, then let me tell you I’ve been there.  I have had some years where I’ve wondered if anything is ever going to go my way.  It’s part of how I know this year is going right.

And in fact, those couple of years helped me cut a lot of crap out of my life.  They helped me prioritize my time and my talents.  Those things only go to people who are truly worth it.  Pssssst, that includes you, dear readers.

I love these What I’m Reading posts because I can go back to some of my favorite parts of the internet by checking this tag, and because they capture a little snippet of my life each week.  Was I giddy-happy?  Stressed beyond belief?  Or somewhere in the middle?

This is the song that gets me going on the way to work, on my runs, on the way home from games late at night (volume turned to max, and BELTING it out), hell, on the way to the grocery store.  It’s a good antidote to the winter blahs.

And this is the best follow-up. You could see it as a downer, but I don’t.  “Yeah I’m a lucky man, to count on both hands the ones I love.”  “Let’s just breathe.”  These things, I repeat them to myself on the regular.  Well, except the man part.

Let me do a bit today, if a bit is what I can do.  It’s cool.  Are you in competition with yourself?  Because you shouldn’t be.  Take small steps in the direction you want to go.  The Art of Simple uses drinking 8 glasses of water a day as the model in this post, but it could be anything.  What are you trying to do?  How can you help yourself get there?  Don’t get in your own way.  My friend, K.Reza wrote a post along those lines, too.  Love it, K. Reza.

You have 5 minutes.  If we’re being totally serious here, I’m guessing it’s rare that there is a time in your busy day when you couldn’t spare 5 minutes.  Do you need 5 minutes?  Take them.

Leave a Reply

