On Minimalism [oatmeal chocolate chip pancakes]

Minimalist Baker is one of the most gorgeous food blogs in town.  Seriously, recipe after recipe on that page begs to be pinned.  So when I went on an internet hunt for pancakes on a recent weekend morning, it was not a surprise that I ended up here.  But then I did something truly awful.

oatmeal chocolate chip pancakes

I took the most beautiful pancakes I could find, perfectly fitting for a freezing winter morning, and completely junked them up.  Every single one of the gluten-free, vegan ingredients in this recipe, except for maybe the banana, was replaced with its diabetes-inducing equivalent.  All purpose flour, egg, butter.  I threw it all in, and hoped I wasn’t changing so much that they wouldn’t turn out.  Shauna wrote beautifully (per usual) about why she no longer offers her readers substitutions for the ingredients in her recipes:

{Our recipes are offerings. There are no guarantees they will work for you. We are constantly, constantly playing in our kitchen. We suggest you do the same. Make the recipe your own.}

So I took those words to heart, and plowed on with what I had.  I guarantee these would have been clouds of heaven had I made them as written.  But they were pretty good with my basic pantry ingredients, too.  And that’s really what cooking is. I wasn’t disappointed, and it’s not like they were unhealthy this way.  Just a little more junked up.  Truth be told?  I wanted to add some coconut flakes, too.  Next time.

To make chocolate chip oatmeal pancakes for 2, you will need:

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 T butter, melted
  • 1 T canola oil
  • 3 T milk
  • 1/2 C oats
  • 1/4 C flour
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 T chocolate chips (yeah, I probably eyeballed a bit more)

In medium bowl, mash banana with baking powder.  Add egg, salt, vanilla, butter, oil, and milk, and stir till combined.  Add oats, flour, and cinnamon, and stir just till combined.  Lumps are to be expected in pancake batter.  Fold in chocolate chips.

Heat butter in large skillet or griddle over medium high heat.  When pan is hot, add batter by the scant quarter-cupful.  After cooking 2-4 minutes on one side (till golden brown), use a spatula to flip pancakes over.  Cook 1-2 minutes on remaining side.  Serve hot.

2 thoughts on “On Minimalism [oatmeal chocolate chip pancakes]

Leave a Reply

