The Oatmeal Club [mocha crunch steel cut oats]

In the middle of February, I wrote about wanting to be in The Oatmeal Club, that group of people who eats oatmeal for breakfast and knows something I don’t.  After 29 years of life on this planet, I found an oatmeal recipe I didn’t hate, and even kind of liked, and I enjoyed it for breakfast for about a week.  And now I’ve got another to share.  And now I really know why you Oatmeal Clubbers have all this energy.  You put your coffee in your oatmeal, don’t you?  Come on, don’t lie!

mocha crunch oatmeal

That’s what I did.  And truth be told, I think there’s still a little tweaking to be done here.  I didn’t have espresso, so I used coffee instead, and the flavor didn’t come through enough for me.  And I wonder about making this particular oatmeal with milk instead of water for more of a latte feel.  But there are times when a dish is too unique not to post, and this is one of those times, so dear readers, have some coffee.  And some oatmeal.  Together.

To make mocha crunch steel oats for 2-4, you will need:

  • 3 C water
  • 1 C steel cut oats
  • 1 1/2 T cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp. espresso
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1/4 C sliced almonds, toasted is always better, for serving
  • 1/4 C chocolate chips, for serving
  • cream, for serving

Bring water to a boil and add oats, cocoa powder, espresso, and salt.  Stir everything till combined.  Bring back to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer, and cook, uncovered, for 20-30 minutes, until oats are done.  Remove from heat and stir in sugar.  Spoon servings out into bowls and top with almonds and chocolate chips.  Pour some cream on top if you’re feeling super daring.

4 thoughts on “The Oatmeal Club [mocha crunch steel cut oats]

  1. Pingback: My Storied Oatmeal Past [peanut butter overnight oats] | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

