You Were Right, Dad [curried chickpeas with vegetables]

Growing up, Pops used to point out I was, “Often wrong, but never in doubt.”  It’s totally true.  I could totally be wrong.  But I wouldn’t want you to find out.

me and pops

If you’ve read meet the cast, first, good for you.  It’s one of my favorite posts.  And second, Pops!  I talked about him, and how he makes these dishes that are good, but I haven’t shared them.  And years later, I still haven’t shared them.  Pops is kind of a dark horse in the kitchen.  I cook a lot, and Brother Bear is super into cooking now, and Pops just sneaks in on off days, when none of us can even fathom standing in front of the stove, and wows with serious flavors.

But here’s the thing.

The flavors he loves are never the first flavors I would go to.

So I don’t typically make his dishes at home.  I look forward to them when I eat them at home, or at the beach, but I don’t always seek them out in my home kitchen.

curry

Until he made curried chickpeas with vegetables from The Joy of Cooking, and I made it two nights later at Casa Glass of Milk.  In fact, I doubled the recipe and threw a batch in the freezer so we’ll eat it again before too long.  This recipe has a laundry list of ingredients, more than I usually use in one dish, but none is particularly exotic, and the prep doesn’t take long at all once you’ve gotten everything chopped in advance.  Or purchased from Whole Foods.  Their pre-chopped veggies are changing my weeknight dinners.

To make curried chickpeas with vegetables for 4, you will need:

  • 1/4 C vegetable oil
  • 2 tsp. cumin seeds
  • 1 T minced, peeled, fresh ginger (I used 1 tsp. dry)
  • 1 T minced garlic
  • 2 tsp. curry powder
  • 1 3/4 C cooked chickpeas (2/3 C dried)
  • 2 C cubed, peeled sweet potatoes
  • 2 C cauliflower florets
  • 1 C green beans, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 C chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 C frozen peas or canned peas (this is my own addition)
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp. salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • 1 C plain yogurt
  • 2 T flour
  • 1 T finely chopped, seeded jalapeno pepper
  • 1/4 C chopped roasted unsalted cashews or peanuts
  • 2 T shredded unsweetened coconut, toasted

Heat the oil and cumin in a large skillet over low heat until sizzling.  Add ginger and garlic and cook for 1 minute, stirring.  Stir in curry powder and cook for another minute.  Stir in chickpeas, sweet potatoes, cauliflower florets, green beans, chicken stock, salt and pepper, cover pan, and cook until vegetables are tender, about 10 minutes.  Add peas, stir, and cover again to cook through.

In small bowl, stir together yogurt and flour.  Add to vegetables, and stir till combined.  Add jalapeno, and cook, stirring, over low heat, until thickened and heated through; do not boil.

Scoop curry into bowls (I love serving over couscous), and top with nuts and coconut.

2 thoughts on “You Were Right, Dad [curried chickpeas with vegetables]

Leave a Reply

