On Happiness

I just finished All Joy and No Fun, by Jennifer Senior, and let me tell you, I learned a thing or two (or five, or ten).  Believe the hype, this book is for real.

One of my favorite tidbits was about happiness.  Senior told how if asked, most parents would say that they want their children to grow up to be happy.  But happiness isn’t something you can grow up and become.  Happiness is a by-product.  It comes as a result of doing something that makes you feel fulfilled.  She kind of rocked my world with that one.  Senior attributed this idea to Dr. Spock, but the pin I found thinks Eleanor Roosevelt had something to say about it, too.

happiness
 

 

Leave a Reply

