The Thinnest Pancakes [swedish pancakes]

It’s funny because when Jesse lent me Amy Thielen’s beautiful book, she suggested a whole bunch of recipes, and I flagged those and more.

short stack swedish pancakes.

And then I remembered that my calendar explodes during the first two weeks of June, and any attempt I make at meal planning is usually shot to pieces about 3 hours into the week.

swedish pancakes.

So the next thing I made from The New Midwestern Table is not at all what I thought, and yet, such a pleasant surprise.  When I woke up on Saturday, with no plans till the afternoon, I took one look at my husband and cried, “Pancakes!”  He was just as excited as I, so I rushed downstairs and got to whisking.

swedish pancakes.

These pancakes are thinner than any I’ve made before, and I’m so glad I whipped them up.  They take a half hour to rest before they hit the skillet, and for the first time in my (storied) pancake-making history, I waited.  As I’d never made the pancakes before, I couldn’t tell you if it made a lick of difference, but I’m glad I did.  It makes me feel like a patient person to wait in the kitchen, and a patient person is rarely anything anyone would associate with my name.

To make Johnson Family Swedish Pancakes for 4-6 people, you will need:

  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 1/4 C whole milk (I used 2%)
  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. fine sea salt
  • 2 T melted, salted butter, more for pan

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and milk together until smooth.  In another bowl, sift the flour, sugar, and salt together.  Sift the flour mixture into the egg mixture, whisking to combine.  Whisk in the butter until smooth.  Let the batter sit at room temperature for at least 30 minutes.

Heat an electric skillet or a large cast-iron griddle over medium-high heat.  Brush the surface with butter.  Pour 5-inch-diameter pancakes, using about 3 tablespoons batter for each.  Cook until dark golden brown on the underside, 1 to 2 minutes.  Flip, and cook for another minute.  Stack the pancakes as they come off the skillet, and repeat, buttering the skillet every third batch.

(Truth be told, I kept these warm in a 200 degree oven.  Because I don’t have a large griddle, and the thin batter means the pancakes cook almost instantly, I couldn’t get enough of these cooked and on a plate before it was time to flip them and ladle out the next cupful of batter.)

2 thoughts on “The Thinnest Pancakes [swedish pancakes]

Leave a Reply

