ACK {raspberry crumble}

nantucket.

Earlier this summer, we went to Nantucket.  And I was reminded that Nantucket is one of my favorite places.  My husband and I spent the morning walking around town, and then we headed to the top of the steeple at First Congregational Church to take in the views of the island.  The man who was on duty told us that we could see all the way to the Cape but couldn’t see the Vineyard. If we had been able to, the day would have been a 10.  As it was he declared it a 9.

 

The highlight of our trip to Nantucket, however, was an island tour and home-cooked meal from some of our friends who spend a few weeks there every summer.  They wouldn’t let us lift a finger to help with any of the preparations or a lick of clean up.  We ate outdoors, and after several days with only the two of us on the road, we thoroughly enjoyed the company of others.  Our dessert was raspberry pie, and my slice was heaven.  I was sitting outside on the most beautiful evening, sipping a glass of wine, and enjoying conversation with some of my favorite people.  What’s not to love there?  After that slice of pie, I swore to spend the rest of the summer eating as many fruit-centric desserts as possible.

raspberry crisp.

When I made this raspberry crisp for my own family, I was trying to bring back the feeling I had on Nantucket, when we ate a home cooked meal around close friends.  The raspberries weren’t nearly as sweet as the ones we had on the island, but that just means I’ll have to make it again when I find ones that live up to my ideals.

To make raspberry crisp for 6, you will need:

    • 4 cups raspberries
    • 1/3 cup sugar
    • 1/3 cup plus 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour, divided
    • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
    • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
    • 1/4 cup coconut (I didn’t have this so I added a bit more oats)

1/4 cup cold butter, cubed

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, gently toss raspberries with sugar and 3 tablespoons of flour.  Pour the berries into a greased 8-in. square baking dish.
In another large bowl, combine the oats, brown sugar, coconut, and remaining flour.  Add in the butter and mix with your hands until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Lightly sprinkle the crumb mixture over the berries.
Bake for 30 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with ice cream, of course.

 

 

One thought on “ACK {raspberry crumble}

  1. Wooden Nickels can vouch for this one–it is DELICIOUS!!!!! You should make this. Better yet, you should have Glass-of-Milk make this for you!

Leave a Reply

