Happy 5th Birthday to A Glass of Milk {blueberry summer cake}

When we weren’t looking (because we were celebrating the 4th of July) this blog went and turned 5!  5 years old!  If it was a child, it would be starting Kindergarten, and I’d be thrilled that someone else was going to keep it occupied for a big chunk of the day.

summer berries.

But here I am behind the keyboard, still plugging away.  Rather than make my blog a big, impressive cake, like I have in the past, I simply modified my favorite cake, using the berries Wooden Nickels had sitting on the counter for our family and a little bit of lime zest.  I love a little bit of lime zest.

my favorite cake.

Thus, strawberry summer cake (I made one of those, too) became blueberry summer cake, and was promptly gobbled up even faster than her red cousin.

blueberry swirls.

I could not get my photos of this cake in focus, so I’ll have to make another, stat.

blueberry summer cake.

To make blueberry summer cake, you will need:

  • 6 T butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 C milk (I’ve used 2% and whole and both work just fine)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • zest of one lime (optional)
  • 1 lb. bluberries, washed and fully dried
  • powdered sugar (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9 or 10 inch cake or Springform pan.

Whisk flour, baking powder and salt in small bowl.  Beat butter and sugar in bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment.  Add egg and beat until incorporated.  Slowly add milk and vanilla.  Add flour mixture and mix just till combined.  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Arrange blueberries on top of batter in single layer.  Or don’t.  Dump all the blueberries on top of the batter, scatter them evenly across the cake.  Either way, give them a little nudge down with the palms of your hands.  Bake cake for 10 minutes.  Reduce heat to 325 degrees, and bake for 40-50 more.  Test for doneness wherever you think you won’t hit a blueberry.  You’ll probably burst one anyway, so just look to see whether goopy yellow stuff comes out with the gorgeous purpley sauce.

Let cool at least 20 minutes before removing from pan, top with powdered sugar, if desired, and serve in large wedges.

2 thoughts on “Happy 5th Birthday to A Glass of Milk {blueberry summer cake}

  1. This is an excellent piece of writing, Little Miss Blueberry Cake! 🙂 [And I thought that dish towel looked kinda familiar….]

  2. Love this take! My original plan for making this over the summer was to make it an America-berry (blue and straw) cake for the Fourth… That didn’t happen, but the more you gram it and blog it the more likely I am to make it happen belatedly. Yum!

Leave a Reply

