Currently

Dear readers, life right now is absolutely, completely, and totally crazy.  It’s full of ups and downs and SO MANY FEELINGS.  The best way I can think to update you is to jump in with one of Pip’s comprehensive lists.

on the beach.

Making : plans for the beach next year!
Cooking : but not really.  More like assembling summer sides that go with meat from the grill.
Drinking : Tom Collins!  New to me and the drink of my summer vacation.
Reading: a book a day, though not really loving any of them yet.
Wanting : for the fall to proceed with as few bumps in the road as possible.
Looking : for a new book I’ll love.  Suggestions?
Playing : podcast after podcast after podcast on my road trips to and from the beach.
Deciding : that taking this summer completely off was the best decision I could have made.
Wishing : that manicures never chipped.
Enjoying : daily walks with new playlists.
Waiting : for a whole bunch of paperwork to clear, only to start in on the next round of paperwork.
Liking : the new (drugstore!) makeup I bought in a pinch one morning this summer.
Wondering : just how much butt my team can kick at work this year.
Loving : friends I’ve known forever.
Pondering : the (school) year ahead.
Considering : putting together a bunch more photobooks of some recent adventures.
Watching : Scandal.
Hoping : I don’t miss anything I’ve put away in storage, so I can donate it all in the end.
Marveling : at a 30th birthday cake to remember from two of the most wonderful friends.
Needing : to get back to my sugar detox.  It took an unexpected hiatus when we started dining with friends each night.
Smelling : clothes dried outside on the line.  Heavenly.
Wearing : stretchy pants, because I’ve been on vacation for quite some time.
Following : actually unfollowing a whole bunch of people on Instagram, Twitter, and Feedly.
Noticing : that things tend to happen a lot faster when you’re under a strict deadline.
Knowing : I cannot be the flight attendant for the planet (thank you again, Shauna)
Thinking : that days spent watching Netflix more than you thought possible aren’t bad days.
Feeling : not very much at all about having turned 30, which surprises me.
Admiring : people who keep a positive attitude going more often than not.
Sorting : through years and years of accumulated junk. (#AndThenWeBoughtAHouse)
Buying : (see above)
Getting : a couple pillows custom made from Wooden Nickels’ Etsy shop.
Bookmarking : (Pinning?) interiors I love.
Disliking : that when life comes with a bunch of ups, there will always be some downs mixed in too.
Opening : suitcases, again and again.
Giggling : over the littlest member of our beach crew and his antics.
Feeling : ready to get back to work.  Shocking even myself with this one.
Snacking : on Cheez-It Double Cheese Snack Mix.  My new neon orange food of choice.
Coveting : The Penguin Classics designed by Coralie Bickford Smith, forever and always.
Wishing : I could be in more than one place at once.
Helping : make dessert for a couple upcoming fetes.
Hearing : the waves outside my window as I fall asleep.

6 thoughts on “Currently

  1. I’m a little upset to see that you’re not snacking on cheese balls (your actual favorite neon orange snack).

  2. I am so happy you like Tom Collinses and that it is your drink of vacation! Oh they are the best and I wish I could clink a glass of one with you.

  3. Pingback: Currently | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

