#BookADay – The Thoughts

I read a book a day, (almost) every day this summer.  And I Instagrammed a lot of pictures of my endeavor.

So many of my friends have asked me what I recommend, and what they should read, but you know what?  I didn’t truly love a single book.  They all fall squarely in my “liked it, didn’t love it” category.  Most were good, but save for a couple, none were great.  But I did take three things away from the whole shebang.

delancey.

1.  When someone asks the question, “Oh, have you read The New Emily Giffin book/The Selection Series//The Opposite of Loneliness?” I can safely respond, “Yes!”

2.  Reading is something worth prioritizing.  Sure, I read a ton in the summer because I have the time, but pledging to read a book a day motivated me and kept me turning pages when I could have been changing channels.  Now that I’ve declared my challenge over, I am already slipping back into binge watching way too much TV (hello, Scandal), and I haven’t picked up a book in a couple of days.

3.  There is value in reading (some) books quickly.  I started a couple meaty novels that I never finished.  Five years ago that would have driven me crazy, but it doesn’t bother me now.  I will pick them up again in the fall or winter when I’m in the mood for books to “destroy myself” (Thanks for the term, Joy).  But that’s not really my speed in the summer.  Breezing through the latest chick lit with my toes in the sand has a place in my life.

All that said dear readers, I don’t have too much to recommend to you.  What I loved the most was Molly Wizenberg’s Delancey, which surprised me because I wasn’t wild about her first book.  I also enjoyed I Don’t Care if We Never Get Back, by Ben Blatt and Eric Brewster, and The Selection Series by Kiera Cass (though yes, the last book seemed to drag on).  And The Opposite of Loneliness fascinated me because of the unique circumstances under which it was published.  I’d recommend, even though some of the pieces didn’t grab me the way others did.

(Image)

Leave a Reply

