On Haters and Roger Federer

Seth Godin, blogger extraordinaire, recently posted It’s Not About You.  Seth.  Thank you.  I am going to keep this post front and center in my mind forever more, but especially as the calendar keeps turning and the frequency with which I need to check my work email increases.  I work with (for?) some folks who are not afraid to express their discontent, and I have a tendency to take their comments personally.  But it’s not about me.  This is liberating.  And I love it.  It’s not about me.

coworkers.

When I watched the Wimbledon final this year, the commentators were talking about how Roger Federer is unique because he’s one of only a handful of (tennis) players who loves to win more than he hates to lose.  It took me a minute to wrap my head around that idea.  He isn’t driven by a need to prove everyone wrong, he’s fueled by his own love of the game.  I love my job.  I totally and completely love it.  And I’m going to spend the next 179 days celebrating just that.

4 thoughts on “On Haters and Roger Federer

Leave a Reply

