Celebrate – Day 2 (Or, Capsule Wardrobes)

I keep thinking that I need to post about capsule wardrobes.  I inadvertently created one for myself and I’m so glad I did.  Elise posted about the one she just came up with here, and this summer, I read about Val’s here, here, and here.  There’s a way a lot of people make capsule wardrobes, and yet they’re one of those things that you can make however you like.

pink clothes.

The basic idea is that you pare your wardrobe down to the essentials, with a couple fun items mixed in, and you mix and match them in different ways.

striped clothes.

As I’ve gone from someone who has a ton of weddings to attend, to someone who has fewer weddings to attend; from someone whose mom works at a popular clothing store, to someone whose mom no longer sends her clothes all the time; and from someone who spends the summer in running shorts and T-Shirts, to…oh wait.  Bottom line:  I’ve learned how I dress 95% of the time.  It’s not in fancy dresses, though man are they tempting.  It’s not in pants as much as it used to be, but I love jeans always and forever.  It’s largely in grey, navy, white, and pink, with some more bright colors mixed in.  Put a stripe on it and I’m yours for life.

blue clothes.

There’s a reason this idea is taking the blogs by storm.  It works.  I am wearing old clothes in new ways, wearing new clothes more, and the best part is I don’t even know what I packed away in our storage unit.  The clothes I said goodbye to a month ago?  The ones I prayed I wouldn’t miss?  I couldn’t even tell you what they are.  I don’t miss them at all.  I get dressed each morning in about 5 minutes, and when it takes longer, it’s because I’m narrowing down multiple choices.  I have not once looked in my closet and thrown my hands up in agony that, “I have nothing to wear.”  Capsule wardrobe, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

2 thoughts on “Celebrate – Day 2 (Or, Capsule Wardrobes)

  1. Wow, what a shame about your mom leaving the retail clothing biz. But is she keeping you in pillows and tote bags?

  2. Pingback: Celebrate, Day 7 | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

