December Reads

Just Read:

Brain on Fire by Susannah Cahalan

Because The Skimm recommended it, as did a co-worker.  I ripped through it in less than a week.  I’m not sure how to write about it, except to tell you that the author had the most strange, twisted experience, and she tells her story in a beautiful, gripping way.

Reading:

Yes Please, by Amy Poehler

Because despite my telling you it wouldn’t be in from the library by December, lo and behold, it was.  And it was probably because people who had it checked out read it so quickly that it got returned in no time at all.  This is a quick read, but not because it’s light and frothy, because there is so much goodness in this book you can’t help but read one more chapter.  I wanted to read this because I read Bossypants and Is Everyone Hanging Out With Me, not because I particularly cared for (or didn’t care for) Poehler.  But this is my favorite of the three because it’s about important stuff like love and kindness, and rarely have I seen that in celebrities’ books.  Oh, and it made me laugh out loud a lot, too.  Duh.

Want to Read:

The Vacationers, by Emma Straub

Because I had it from the library at the end of the summer, and had to bring it back before I finished it.  That happens all the time.  I’ve got it again now, and I’m ready to go.  This is one of those novels that moves slowly, so it needs characters to keep you hooked.  Despite many Goodreads reviews to the contrary, the characters crack me up.

7 thoughts on “December Reads

  1. Pingback: January Reads | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: February Reads [+ one little word – february] | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: March Reads | a glass of milk

  4. Pingback: April Reads | a glass of milk

  5. Pingback: August (and May and June and July) Reads, part I | a glass of milk

  6. Pingback: September Reads | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

