The Latest [cap’n crunch cookies]

A lot’s been going on here lately, dear readers.

cap'n crunch cookies. First of all, thanks to all for commenting on my Required Reading series–I’m loving your suggestions.  Keep ’em coming

Second of all, I sent this pin off to a woman in the kitchen-designing-world (what a happy place), and she made me a sketch, which could be the beginnings of something that makes me all drooly and excited.

Third of all, I made cookies, as I am wont to do.  My husband wondered why I was baking, as the butter and sugar started coming together in the bowl of my (mother-in-law’s) mixer, and I said, just because.

To make Cap’n Crunch Cookies, just because, you will need:

  • 1 C softened unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 medium egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/3 C chocolate chips (I might up this by 1/3 C next time because you can never have enough chocolate)
  • 1/3 C peanut butter cups, chopped
  • 1/8 C rolled oats
  • 3 cups Cap’n Crunch cereal (you don’t have to buy a whole box–they make these cute little individual servings.  I bought two of these individual serving sizes at the grocery store)

Mix sugar and butter for 1 minute with a handheld or standing mixer.  Add egg and vanilla, and mix for 1 more minute.  Add flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix together for 1-2 minutes.  Add chocolate chips, peanut butter cups, oats, cap’n crunch, and quickly mix it all together for 1 minute.

With a 3 oz ice cream scoop, scoop dough onto a greased cookie sheet. Cover with parchment paper and press down each cookie with a flat object like a plate. Freeze for 1 hour.

Bake at 350 for 5 minutes, rotate pan, and bake for another 4-5 minutes. Remove and allow to cool.

2 thoughts on “The Latest [cap’n crunch cookies]

Leave a Reply

