Currently

Every time I post a currently list, I check back in the archives and make sure it’s been a while since I made one.  And I pray you’re not sitting at home going, Gaaaaaaah, there she goes again with another one of those fill in the blank posts.  But the thing is, I love them.  Thus, your next installment.  Enjoy!

selfie

Also, my selfie game is spot on here, IMO.

Also 60% of this list is related to television.  Just so you know where I’m coming from right now.

Making: serious decisions when it comes to our soon-to-be kitchen.  I gave a lovely woman named Kellie this pin, and told her to go crazy.
Cooking: nothing; but I’m baking up a storm.  Stay tuned right here, dear readers.
Drinking: champagne sangria soon, I hope
Reading: Being Mortal, because Elise and Joanna told me to.
Wanting: to spend some time beating butter, flour, sugar, and eggs together tomorrow.
Looking: into heading up to NYC for a summer class with a coworker.  Any excuse to live there for the week…
Playing: with a new toy I got for work.
Deciding: whether or not to invest in new jeans
Wishing: I could snap my fingers and clean my room, a la my hero.
Enjoying:  my simple weeknight routine: barre, dinner, TV, bed.
Waiting: a couple more weeks for SCL’s birthday extravaganza.  She wants me to make something with cream cheese frosting.  Any ideas, dear readers?
Liking: The amount of (kitchen-related) storage space our new house will have.  Is it possible that there will be a home for all of my…ahem…things?
Wondering: whether this snow will be plowed in time for me to sneak off to a movie (who wants to guess which one?).
Loving:  Pure Barre.  I go three or four times a week, and I can do push ups for real (for probably the first time ever), and it’s amazing.
Pondering: the amount of brain space I need to read.  I have a much harder time sticking with a book when I have a swirl of other events going on in my life.  But in the summer I can put one away each day.  Go figure.
Considering: staying in bed all day.
Watching : Jane the Virgin, which my friend Kristen and I got into after Gina Rodriguez won the Golden Globe a couple of weeks ago.  Also Mozart in the Jungle, John Adams, and New Girl.
Hoping:  for snow days, while at the same time, not wanting snow to hold up our construction
Marveling: at my zen-like state over this renovation (she said as it had only just begun).  I know deadlines will get pushed back.  I know the weather will thwart our plans.  And I know there is nothing I can do about it.
Needing: I can’t think of anything I need right now.  What a fabulous feeling.
Smelling: Snow.  It’s colder than cold, but I cracked the window to breathe in the snow anyway.
Wearing : all the new Beyond Yoga pants (which is such a surprising color choice for me) and my grey Anthro cardigan.  I can’t get enough of them.
Following : I Have This Thing With Floors, We Never Met, and Reese Witherspoon on Instagram
Noticing: that it’s a rare morning when I wake up and don’t feel the need for coffee.  I’m officially addicted.
Knowing: that belting out some of the world’s best ballads at the top of my lungs while driving up and down 95 is good for my health.
Thinking: about how much clutter I’ve amassed in this small space in which we’re currently entrenched.
Feeling: excited about the snow day ahead!
Admiring: people who enter into social settings with nothing but enthusiasm.  Trying to be those people.
Sorting: Laundry.  Always.
Buying : nothing!  Trying super-hard not to spend anything right now.
Getting:  a ton of books in on hold at the library.  This one and this one, in particular.
Bookmarking: kitchens!  Lots of them.  On Houzz.  Which I don’t find as fun as Pinterest.
Disliking: that I completely forgot to tune into Gone With the Wind during TCM’s 31 Days of Oscar.  Praying I don’t make the same mistake with To Kill a Mockingbird on the 18th.
Opening: valentines from all the little people in my life
Giggling: over SNL40.  I know there are a lot of haters, but it had its moments!
Snacking: on conversation hearts – but only the green and orange ones.
Coveting :  cookbooks.  I haven’t bought one since at least last May and there are so many I’m waiting to click purchase on as soon as our kitchen island becomes a reality (which will likely be this May).
Wishing: for a magical, and perhaps nonexistant amount of snow, that lets me off work for two days, but still allows me time to work out and drive around town.
Helping: plan a lunch for 80 this weekend.  Wish me luck?
Hearing:  The Simpsons on in the background here, while my husband gets ready for Better Call Saul.  I’d tell you I watch it, but I really just glance up from the laptop in between violent scenes.

4 thoughts on “Currently

  1. Lunch for 80? Oh my goodness. The zen calm is genetic. Comes from me. Or wait, maybe it’s your dad. And I can think of something you need. It’s jeans. You said so. I love that anthro sweater, and I don’t know how you can wear gray when I look like a corpse in gray (it’s all about me). I’m in awe about the push-ups. Re Snuzz, just a bowl of cream cheese frosting. Cake is overrated. This is a good post (yours I mean).

  2. I have so much to say about this! Hang tight. First of all, while I guess I don’t see you in all social settings, you seem to enter all the ones I do see you in with the most enthusiasm! Now I want to read “Being Mortal” too. I totally missed that Elise and Joanna told us to. I want to check out Pure Barre now! I wonder if they have a Mommy & Me version. I’m thinking of investing in jeans, too! Honestly, this just occurred to me the other day. I wear them so often now it seems appropriate. I’ve never invested in jeans. I’m a GAP girl. Have you invested before? What’s your approach? Will you go to a place where you can try on many different kinds? If you want a buddy for this, let me know. I probably should have texted you at this point. Oh well.

    • Somehow I missed this comment 14 days ago when you wrote it! I went to JCrew and tried on a couple pairs, and ended up with one. But now, because of Barre, which I love, I need new jeans again. Let’s go shopping in the summer! And if Bethesda isn’t too far out for you, come to Barre as well!

  3. Pingback: Currently | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

