March Reads

The 23 Best Parts Of Being A Book Lover

So happy to be back with a much more exciting reading update than last month’s post.  And what’s even better is that my dear sister-in-law just cleaned out her bookshelves and let me have first pick at what she can’t make space for anymore.  Hello all 5 Jane Austen volumes I have yet to read.

Just Read:

I’ll Drink to That, by Betty Halbreich

Because Shauna said it was good.  Thank you Shauna.  I don’t have enough good things to say about this book.  But I’ll try.  Betty is a personality, which is crystal clear from page one.  She doesn’t mince words.  She’s honest.  And she’s a damn classy lady.  I can tell.  Betty offers a glimpse into her world at the “Solutions Center” (though she despises the name) at Bergdorfs.  She is a woman who knows things, not just about effortless style and celebrities, but about life, and what makes it hard, and what makes it beautiful.  My new spirit animal, to be sure. (p.s.  After you’ve read it, watch “Scatter My Ashes at Bergdorfs” on Netflix.)

Reading:

A Disease Called Childhood, by Marilyn Wedge

Because I see a lot of ADHD in my day to day life, and the premise is intriguing.  Just how real is this disorder?  The book referred to Bringing Up Bebe in the introduction, and is already citing the French and the Finns as model examples of child rearing.  If their children don’t have ADHD, how come ours do?  I’m intrigued, but some chapters read like a textbook, so I can only get through about one or two at at a time.

Want to Read:

Dept. of Speculation, by Jenny Offill

Because Shauna recommended this one, too, and because portraits of marriages are my favorite.  I’m nosy, and I love getting an inside look at something, even if it is a fictional coupling.

February//January//December//November

(source)

3 thoughts on “March Reads

  1. Pingback: April Reads | a glass of milk

  2. Pingback: August (and May and June and July) Reads, part I | a glass of milk

  3. Pingback: September Reads | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

