Does it Bring You Joy?*

crap.

No but really, does it?

While Marie-Kondo-ing the shit out of my life (I’m sorry dear readers, but there’s no other way to say it), this was a question I asked myself again and again and again and again and again, ad infinitum.  This is the question that is supposed to make me a minimalist (well, if I decluttered in a certain order, and stopped folding over my socks when I matched them, and a couple of other things).  I told myself if I hesitated for a split second when I asked myself, “Does this bring you joy?”, then the answer was no and I was better spent throwing that shirt in the giveaway pile/taking that bedskirt to the thrift store/asking my sister-in-law if she wanted that coffee table/just plain throwing it away.

Here’s where it got tricky for me.  Kondo’s question is DOES this bring you joy.  Not DID this bring you joy.  So, yes, that Vineyard Vines beach bag that you scored ten years ago at TJ Maxx for $20 brought you a hella lotta joy when you scored it and toted it around in the summers after college.  But that was ten years ago.  The bag is stained.  It has holes.  It served it’s purpose and now it’s done.  It brought you all the joy in the world when you found it for so much less than all those other sorority girls.  You got to walk around during the summers with an air of superiority, knowing you paid less than half of what most people paid for it.  If that’s not the definition of pure joy, I don’t know what is.  But that was ten years ago.  Today, it’s just taking up space in your closet, unless you pull it out when you go to the beach, in which case, it makes you look schlumpy, and like you don’t have six other cute beach bags you could be taking (you do).

And with that dear readers, the bag got tossed, and I grew one step closer to living a life better described here.

*This question is one Marie Kondo poses in her book, The Life Changing Art of Tidying Up, which every blogger had to read as part of our required coursework.  The more serious of us have already posted about it in great depth.

4 thoughts on “Does it Bring You Joy?*

  1. Such a good question to keep in mind. It’s a struggle to keep it in the present and not let the joy it brought you trick you into keeping things.

  2. Pingback: On Drinking the Kool Aid | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

