Happy 1000 {green beans with almond pesto}

Dear readers, you are reading my 1000th post.

1000.

That’s a lot of posting here on AGOM.  Some I’m incredibly proud of.  Some I still chuckle at.  And some are really just filler.  Sorry.  I bounce in and out of writing because I have all these words I need to get out and writing because I have a blog and I haven’t posted in a while and I should probably post something but what do I really have to say?

Which is kind of where I am right now with food posts.

The thing with 1000 posts is I have a lot of go-tos.  I have food I make again and again that I’ve already blogged about and that you don’t need to see again because there’s not much more to say.

Wow, this post has a lot of run-ons.

Anyway.

All that to say my 1000th post is not a six-layer cake, nor is it three-step cupcakes, nor some impressively roasted chunk of meat.  It’s a vegtable side dish.

I hope there are 1000 more posts in my future.  I hope you find them insightful and chuckle-worthy and not too much like filler.  And I hope you find some killer recipes that inspire you to get in the kitchen.  Because that’s the whole point anyway.

green beans with almond pesto.

I made Smitten’s green beans with almond pesto for a big summer dinner we hosted last week.  It was everything you’re looking for in a summer dish in that it featured seasonal produce, was easily prepped ahead of time (make the pesto, then just steam the beans when you’re ready), and is not going to undo your plans to look good in a swimsuit.

To make enough (as a side) for 8, you will need:

2 pounds green beans
1 cup (5 ounces or 140 grams) almonds, toasted and cooled
1 1/4 ounces (about 1/3 cup grated) parmesan or aged pecorino cheese, but no need to grate if using a food processor
1 small garlic clove, peeled and crushed
Leaves from a sprig or two of thyme
Pinches of red pepper flakes, to taste
1/4 teaspoon coarse sea or kosher salt
2 to 3 teaspoons white wine vinegar
1/3 cup olive oil, plus extra for drizzling

Bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Trim green beans and cook in boiling water until crisp tender, about 3 to 4 minutes. Drain and pat dry.*

In food processor, grind almonds, cheese, garlic, thyme, pepper and salt to a coarse paste. Add vinegar, and pulse again. Stir in oil and adjust seasonings to taste.

Toss cooled green beans with almond pesto. Drizzling with extra olive oil for a fresh glisten. Dig in.

*Or, prepare the pesto, and skip this whole green bean part until just before dinner.

2 thoughts on “Happy 1000 {green beans with almond pesto}

Leave a Reply

