August (and May and June and July) Reads, part II

Coming in with Part II of my August (and May and June and July) reads this morning.  Part I here.  Thanks for sticking with me. the look of love.

p.s. Have you followed aglassofmilkreads on Instagram?  You should.

Just Read: The Almost Nearly Perfect People, by Michael Booth Because I am obsessed with Scandinavia.  My family took a trip to an old (300+ years) homestead in Norway when I was in middle school and ever since we left, I’ve been dying to return.  I don’t know if it was so transformative because it was my first trip out of the country, because of our family connections to the land, or because we went on the summer solstice so I was just high on Vitamin D the whole time, but I am obsessed with Scandinavia, and I’m proud to say my ancestors hail from a place that people deem so perfect.  The author of this has lived in Denmark for quite some time, and he tries to paint a more complete picture of each Nordic country that shows you a deeper look than some of the studies that say Danes are the happiest, Finns are the smartest, and Norwegians are the richest, would have you believe.

All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr Because duh.  This one was interesting.  I started it ages ago, but had to return it before I was finished.  The chapters are short, which makes you think it’s the kind of book you can read for a bit, and then set aside.  That was my first attempt.  A couple chapters before bed, and away till the next evening.  After talking to AGOMYR, though, she said things picked up for her when she had longer chunks of time to devote to the story.  So here’s the thing with this book.  I loved it.  There were about fifty to a hundred pages in the middle where I felt things were dragging, but otherwise, I was into the story throughout.  It was beautifully told.  But.  Potential spoilers ahead:  Marie Laure makes a comment on page 23 that sealed the fate of the story for me.  As soon as she said it, I knew that was where the plot was headed.  And the storyline also reminded me a little too much of another story that features a diamond.  And another story where the person who holds a stone can never die.  I just kinda felt like I had seen this one before.  I wonder if I’d be so critical if it hadn’t won the Pulitzer.

The Look of Love, by Sarah Jio Because I went to the library before I went to the beach, and picked up a ton of books that I had heard about and never read, and this was one of those books.  It’s short, sweet (to the point that it’s cheesy, but sometimes there’s a place for cheesy novels in one’s life), and is going to make a great chick flick someday.  Except it doesn’t look like anyone has gotten that far yet, so dear readers, go pitch it to a production company so I can watch it!  It has a Love Actually vibe in that (partially) takes place during Christmas, and some of the characters’ lives end up overlapping, and it shows us a glimpse of the love between all different kinds of couples.  I teared up in a couple of places at the end because I’m a sucker for a good love story.

Reading: Nothing!  But I’m deciding which of these two to start this afternoon.

Want to Read:

Bennington Girls are Easy, by Charlotte Silver Because it keeps popping up on Amazon when I look up other titles in which I’m interested.  I read the plot synopsis and I’m intrigued enough to reserve it at the library.

The Oregon Trail, by Rinker Buck Because I have a special place in my heart for the Oregon Trail, yet no desire to walk it myself.  I’m content to learn about others’ experiences.

Kitchens of the Great Midwest, by J. Ryan Stradal Because it’s a food book!

One thought on “August (and May and June and July) Reads, part II

  1. Pingback: September Reads | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

