My Storied Oatmeal Past [peanut butter overnight oats]

Oatmeal and I have tried to make it work for a really long time.  If I’m not mistaken, I’ve quit oatmeal before.

peanut butter overnight oats.

I love the texture oatmeal adds to baked goods, but as a meal in and of itself?  It takes a lot for me to get into it.  Here’s a little glimpse into my storied past…

At first I made Banana Walnut Baked Oatmeal, and I loved it. Because you bake the oatmeal, it mimics the flavor in, say, an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie.  That was a winner.  It gave me the push I needed to try oatmeal on its own.  Oatmeal for oatmeal’s sake.

Not wanting to do something crazy like add chia seeds or kombucha to my oatmeal, I drowned it in coffee and chocolate.  Thus, Mocha Crunch Steel Cut Oats came to the breakfast table.  p.s.  Does anyone actually know what kombucha is?

The next oatmeal I tried was Brownie Batter Peanut Butter Swirl Oatmeal.  It should have been so completely life-changing.  It wasn’t.  Hence my retirement from oatmeal.

Every morning, I stumble into the kitchen and manage to get a smoothie into the blender, and you know what?  Sometimes you need a change.  You need to shake things up.  I know how good it is for me to drown myself in berries and blended spinach before anything else in the day, but I can’t do it every day.  My friend Thays Instagrammed her first batch of overnight oats the other morning, and I commented something along the lines of oh that looks so good, and she was nice enough to comment back with the recipe.

So, I made them.  Any good friend would, right?

Dear readers, I did not hate these oats!

I did not love these oats.  But I think I liked them.  I think we might be at the start of a beautiful friendship.  The secret may have been that I didn’t trash these up with brownie batter, or coffee, or anything else that maybe was actually too distracting from the oats.  They were spiced up with a little peanut butter, but otherwise, they were their oat-y selves.  I pulled them together right before I made dinner, and set them in the fridge until early the next morning. It’s something I can totally see myself doing when work starts up again (horrors!), and life gets hectic.

To make peanut butter overnight oats for 3, you will need:

  • 1/2 C peanut butter
  • 2 C old fashioned oats
  • 2 C milk (I have to use at least 2%, if not whole here)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1-2 bananas
  • handful of chocolate chips
  • handful of almonds*

Mix peanut butter, oats, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon in a small bowl with a tight fitting lid.  Cover and set in the fridge at night.  Go to sleep.  In the morning, portion the oatmeal into bowls, slice bananas on top, and add almonds and chocolate chips.

*No, I did not have almonds, but I dreamed of adding them and will have them next time.

3 thoughts on “My Storied Oatmeal Past [peanut butter overnight oats]

  1. Pingback: On Taste Buds | a glass of milk

Leave a Reply

