My Kind of Friends [Asian broccoli salad with peanut sauce]

When you’re inviting people over, no matter what the occasion, or what food you serve, the most important thing is the people.

You need the kind of people who you want to linger at the table.

You need the kind of people who will forgive whatever is in your medicine cabinet.

You need the kind of people who will understand that your house is finished being remodeled, but you don’t have a rug in your living room yet, and the glass for your cabinets isn’t installed, or even ordered, because you just aren’t there yet.

smorgasbord.

I have those people, and they are the only people who have seen #AndThenWeBoughtAHouse so far.

I thought when we moved in I would start hosting my weekly dinners instantly.  After all, when we moved into our condo, we invited people over for a housewarming party a mere three weeks after moving in.  It was a great way to get the boxes unpacked, but this house is different.  This is the forever house, and so I’m not interested in finding quick fixes for tricky-to-fill spaces.  But I know I shouldn’t be waiting until the house is “good enough” to have people over.  It has a kitchen than can crank out food, so I should be cranking it out to feed the people I love.  Working on it.

asian broccoli salad with peanut sauce.

When my people came over most recently, I pulled off a riff on Gimme Some Oven’s Asian Broccoli Salad with Peanut Sauce.  I doubled the sauce recipe, added 2/3 pound pasta, and swapped the peanuts for almonds.  It was a great addition to the smorgasbord.

One thought on “My Kind of Friends [Asian broccoli salad with peanut sauce]

Leave a Reply

