When You Need to Eat Junk [Oreo and Peanut Butter Brownie Cups]

Life is a double-standard, no?  I would never (honest!) judge you, dear readers, for finding a “quick, easy, funfetti” recipe on Pinterest and making it for dessert tonight, but would never do it.

peanut butter brownie oreo cups.

Until I find one that totally grabs me, that I have to make right now.  This dessert has no nutritional value, but man, is it good.  It’s made of high-fructose-ly, processed ingredients, at which so many of us would turn up our noses, but it’s irresistible.  Deal with it.

To make 18 Oreo and peanut butter brownie cups, you will need:

  • brownie mix, and all the accoutrements called for on the box
  • peanut butter*
  • about a pack and a half of Oreos (I bake exclusively with Double Stufs)

Line 18 muffin tins with paper liners.  In each, place a stack of an Oreo, a layer of peanut butter, another Oreo, and another layer of peanut butter.

Prepare brownie mix according to package directions.  Pour batter over the “cupcakes” until tins are about 2/3 full. Bake 18-20 minutes, until brownies are cooked through.

*When I pin anything made with peanut butter, AGOMYR inevitably asks, “Have you tried it with Nutella?”  And so, dear readers, I did try these with Nutella.  And here is what I will say.  They are good.  But Nutella is chocolatey, and so are Oreos.  I like the contrast between the Oreos and peanut butter much, much better.

4 thoughts on “When You Need to Eat Junk [Oreo and Peanut Butter Brownie Cups]

  1. Lady, I do not always need Nutella. I keep telling you I love almond butter. Will I ever complain if you accommodate me by including Nutella? Nope. Will I ever choose almond butter over Nutella in a dessert? Nope. But do you ever HAVE to? Nope, nope, and nope. ❤️

    • Do you know I’ve never had almond butter? That’s practically a food blogger sin. Suggestions for my first almond butter experience? I have a small pack of Justin’s in my pantry that may well be expired, but if not…

      • Oh, Justin’s all the way. I wish it weren’t so good, but I keep packs in my desk and have it with apples for lunch. I’ve made my own, and it was delicious, but it’s no Justin’s. Be prepared for deliciousness, and for it to not be that much like PB (obvi, if I love it).

Leave a Reply

