Baby Shower Brunch [no bake chocolate peanut butter oatmeal]

I went to a big baby shower for The (Not So) New Girl, featuring her friends and (extensive) family.  It was at her family’s farm, and dear readers, I am not joking when I tell you I had to watch the goats as I was parking, to make sure I could show my face.  The setting was idyllic, and the food was most impressive.  Aside from the whole, being with celebrating a good friend side of things, my favorite memory from the day was when a parade of ladies walked down the kitchen steps and set a wealth of egg-filled breakfast casseroles and baked oatmeals on the table.  Are you kidding me?  That’s my idea of heaven.  I also got to meet my foodie twin, The (Not So) New Girl’s cousin, who might love cooking more than I do.

shower spread.

drink station.

The best baked oatmeal turned out to be a no-bake oatmeal.  Since the day was warm, the chocolate peanut butter layer of these no bake chocolate peanut butter oatmeal bars got all melty and gooey, and I died over my first helping, but pulled it together so I could enjoy a second.  Then I turned around and made it in my own kitchen not two weeks later.

no bake chocolate peanut butter oatmeal.

To make an 8 x 8 casserole’s worth, you will need:

  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups quick cooking oats
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter

Melt butter in a large sauce pan over low heat. Stir in brown sugar, vanilla, and oats. Cook for 3 to 4 minutes. Press half of mixture in to the bottom of a buttered 8 x 8 dish.

In a microwave safe bowl, microwave the chocolate and peanut butter, stirring every 30 seconds until melted and blended. Pour the chocolate peanut butter mixture over the crust.

Sprinkle the remaining oat mixture over the chocolate and peanut butter, pressing gently to form a crust.

Refrigerate for 3 hours before cutting and serving.

Leave a Reply

