Basic Fall Activities [pumpkin, cranberry & white chocolate cake cookies]

I haven’t been to a pumpkin patch yet, dear readers.  I tried a pumpkin spice latte, but I hated it.  I have yet to break out my Uggs, and I don’t like the way boots fit over my skinny jeans.  So I’m not the best basic bitch.

pumpkin white chocolate cranberry cookies.

But I have done something right.  AGOMYR and I managed to bring each other pumpkin cookies on the same Monday morning, without knowing we were planning to do so.  She made pumpkin snickerdoodles with cinnamon chips (that I later found were made even better with a layer of Nutella on top), and I made Joy the Baker’s pumpkin, cranberry & white chocolate cake cookies.  They’re from her second cookbook, which I bought when I had no kitchen, and with which I’ve been trying to spend more time.

To make a couple dozen, you will need:

  • 1 C pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 C unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp. grated orange zest
  • 2 C flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 C fresh cranberries, chopped (I used dried, but I wish I had fresh)
  • 1 C white chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment.

In a medium saucepan set over medium heat, combine pumpkin, butter, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, cardamom, and orange zest.  Heat until the butter is melted and the mixture is warm and fragrant, about 5 minutes.  Remove the pan from heat and let cool slightly.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Once the pumpkin mixture is about room temperature, whisk in the eggs, brown sugar, and vanilla.  Add the pumpkin mixture to the flour mixture.  Stir well, and then stir in the cranberries and white chocolate.

Spoon the cookie dough, about 2 heaping tablespoons per cookie, onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches in between each cookie.* Bake until the tops feel firm and cooked through, about 16 minutes.  Let cook on the baking sheets for 5 minutes before using a wide metal spatula to transfer the cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

*I found these cookies (because they are cake cookies) baked into almost exactly the shapes they were dropped as.  If it’s important to you to have a smooth, round cookie, pat the spoonfuls down, so you have a shape you like.

3 thoughts on “Basic Fall Activities [pumpkin, cranberry & white chocolate cake cookies]

Leave a Reply

